Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Durango DNX408 - Fast enough to win the World Title. >

Durango DNX408 - Fast enough to win the World Title.

Durango DNX408 - Fast enough to win the World Title.

Old 03-25-2012, 04:39 AM
  #7636  
Tech Master
iTrader: (13)
 
TrickyMick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Ipswich
Posts: 1,251
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Too Team Durango

With the new DNX408 V2 on its way, will the Current version be cheaper still?

or

Will you offer the Upgraded parts as an option to buy as a package?

or

Will they be included them in any Older Model Kit Sold????
TrickyMick is offline  
Old 03-25-2012, 06:25 AM
  #7637  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (360)
 
tobamiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tea drinking Limmey in NJ
Posts: 12,391
Trader Rating: 360 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by TrickyMick
With the new DNX408 V2 on its way, will the Current version be cheaper still?

or

Will you offer the Upgraded parts as an option to buy as a package?

or

Will they be included them in any Older Model Kit Sold????
Original kit is still $370 from Amain. I would say get one while you can at that price. I imagine they will sell all the old stock and then you will have to pay the original price i.e $549 for the new kit.

Cost of new parts is (roughly) just = $22 tank, $12 radio, $15 gearcase, $6 wing mount, Figure $4 or PT-mount, $3 bladders = $62.
tobamiester is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 01:08 AM
  #7638  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default Anti squat

Hi all 408 drivers,

May I know which anti squat inserts u guys use for RR block ?
I m using 3/3 and car squat alot. My LHS run out of the part 330303.

I wonder when the car squat a lot it will affect the front traction.

Any input ??
rossii is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 12:00 PM
  #7639  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (66)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 454
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone happen to know of any hobby shops in southern California that carry 408 replacement parts? Heading out there and hoping to find some hinge pins for backups.
dr_gonzo is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:33 PM
  #7640  
Tech Master
iTrader: (51)
 
Rock333's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Greenville, SC
Posts: 1,509
Trader Rating: 51 (100%+)
Default

www.losipartshouse.com
Near Long beach.
Rock333 is offline  
Old 03-26-2012, 02:58 PM
  #7641  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (66)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 454
Trader Rating: 66 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Rock333
www.losipartshouse.com
Near Long beach.

Thanks!
dr_gonzo is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 01:00 PM
  #7642  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Quick question how are people measuring the shock length.

My shocks i cant seem to get under 126mm which is making my ride height silly, im trying to put doughty's slough setup on there which calls for 116mm shock length but cant get any where near that!
Slick990 is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 01:06 PM
  #7643  
Tech Initiate
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 37
Default

The shock length is measured on the car it is taken from the screw holding the shock to the wishbone too the upper shock holder it can be adjusted using the droop screws
kbrunsden is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 01:11 PM
  #7644  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Only thing im having with that is im ending up with a ride height of about 30+mm when the setup sheet calls for 24mm. But should the shock length be independent from the droop screws as thats another setting?
Slick990 is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 01:20 PM
  #7645  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 411
Default

Originally Posted by Slick990
Only thing im having with that is im ending up with a ride height of about 30+mm when the setup sheet calls for 24mm. But should the shock length be independent from the droop screws as thats another setting?
Shock length is controlled with the droop screws. You will need to adjust the spring collars (gold bits on the shock bodies), to adjust for ride height.
Chris-s is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 01:22 PM
  #7646  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 87
Default

Originally Posted by Chris-s
Shock length is controlled with the droop screws. You will need to adjust the spring collars (gold bits on the shock bodies), to adjust for ride height.
And what adjusts the droop?

Ive come from a few years of touring cars, where we would never use a droop screw to limit the length of a shock as that would be set through the actual shock itself off the car.

Do you set the droop first, then the shock length or the other way round?
Slick990 is offline  
Old 03-27-2012, 01:53 PM
  #7647  
Tech Adept
 
jsp619's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Cleveland, OH
Posts: 217
Default

Originally Posted by Slick990
And what adjusts the droop?

Ive come from a few years of touring cars, where we would never use a droop screw to limit the length of a shock as that would be set through the actual shock itself off the car.

Do you set the droop first, then the shock length or the other way round?
Droop is the shock lenth the ride hieght should come from the shock adjustment collars, you should first set the shock length or droop first with the droop screws that go through the arms and hit the chassis, then adjust the ride height with the amount of preload on the gold shock collar, if you can not obtain the correct ride height with the shock collars adjusted you have to much rebound built into the shocks.
jsp619 is offline  
Old 03-28-2012, 07:50 AM
  #7648  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
CoryD's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Edmonton
Posts: 1,187
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Slick990
Ive come from a few years of touring cars, where we would never use a droop screw to limit the length of a shock as that would be set through the actual shock itself off the car.
What touring car would THAT be?

Later,
CoryD is offline  
Old 03-28-2012, 08:15 AM
  #7649  
Tech Elite
 
vito's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: roseburg or
Posts: 3,936
Default

is this a nice buggy to get and will the updated v2 parts fit? need a 1/8 buugy
vito is offline  
Old 03-28-2012, 08:25 AM
  #7650  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (360)
 
tobamiester's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Tea drinking Limmey in NJ
Posts: 12,391
Trader Rating: 360 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by vito
is this a nice buggy to get and will the updated v2 parts fit? need a 1/8 buugy
Yes and Yes
tobamiester is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.