Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Durango DNX408 - Fast enough to win the World Title. >

Durango DNX408 - Fast enough to win the World Title.

Durango DNX408 - Fast enough to win the World Title.

Old 01-19-2011, 09:04 PM
  #1771  
Tech Adept
 
cartodinamo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: GDL, Mexico
Posts: 113
Default

Originally Posted by Frank L
I used the Durango rubber neck and a Losi filter. The body pushes it down a little but it dosent hurt anything. After I run-through the stock of Losi filters I have collected I'll start using the TD filter
Thanks Frank, I'm using the mugen ones (only the outside element) in the stock case but I don't like that much the durango ones.
I'll try the Losi filter....
cartodinamo is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:09 PM
  #1772  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 806
Trader Rating: 7 (89%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jpas
Actually changing the linkage length only affects the front brake. The rear is set by EPA and the length of the silicone tube. It is definitely on the touchy side, the AMB mount position is a PIA, but once the brakes are set you really don't need to mess with them until they wear down.
+1, the link will only affect front brake bias. I really got confused at first but after giving it a look and see how the link moves, jpas is right that you set the front bias via the link and the rear via epa or a good fuel tube. Once you got that down fairly easy to handle as in you dont even have to worry about it till it wears down.

One thing to check is sometimes dirt gets into the the piston which pushes on the caliper. It happened to me. My front brakes was not working, I kept on adjusting the EPA, screws and link, non worked. The piston doesnt touch the calipers anymore. I took out the whole center diff assembly and checked it. Dirt got into the piston and it kinda scared the piston so it binds. I sanded them a bit to make more clearance. No problems so far.
oggietiu is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:10 PM
  #1773  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 240
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

What a kick in the balz.....

30 days ago the 408 was $699.99

Today it is $619.99

Thanks HRP

Last edited by McFly505; 01-20-2011 at 06:34 AM.
McFly505 is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:15 PM
  #1774  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Manila, Philippines
Posts: 806
Trader Rating: 7 (89%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Mr B
It shouldn't be needed, and most the time kills the warranty. A reason good as any, if you ask me.
(On the other hand, i doubt any warranty cover fuel spills.)
B!
You could use an engine sealant like the lucky 7 sealant. Easy on easy off formula. I use that. You dont even have to take the servo apart just pour it on the gap of the servo which you think fuel can get into. I dont know how long it will last though. I retouch mine often.
oggietiu is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:16 PM
  #1775  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,520
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=waynej;8515655]
Originally Posted by Frank L
I'm using 104f and 116r for droop settings. Try that

How much preload are you running on your shocks for the setting of your ride height (running the same as you with losi green spring to the rear)?

As for shock oil trying 600 front and rear.
Not much preload. I'll snap a pic in a few so you can see. But I measure to the bottom of the chassis right behind the front and and in front of the rear arm where it's flat.
Frank L is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:22 PM
  #1776  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (46)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago, IL/St.Petersburg,FL
Posts: 2,349
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by McFly505
What a kick in the balz.....

30 days ago the 408 was $699.99

Today it is $619.99

Thanks Kendall
dont forget your $25.00 coupon to and funny its says now $698.99 was MAP
transplantlife is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 09:29 PM
  #1777  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (13)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 240
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by transplantlife
dont forget your $25.00 coupon to and funny its says now $698.99 was MAP
I know that new stuff typically drops over the course of time, but $80 in 30 days?

I'm feel something in me......and I don't like it.....
McFly505 is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 10:03 PM
  #1778  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
12a_rx2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 430
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by McFly505
What a kick in the balz.....

30 days ago the 408 was $699.99

Today it is $619.99

Thanks Kendall
wow that sucks i got mine from amain 2 weeks ago....

plus i missed out on the 75$ code from december

oh well
12a_rx2 is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 10:25 PM
  #1779  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,520
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by McFly505
What a kick in the balz.....

30 days ago the 408 was $699.99

Today it is $619.99

Thanks Kendall
Originally Posted by 12a_rx2
wow that sucks i got mine from amain 2 weeks ago....

plus i missed out on the 75$ code from december

oh well
Thats why I get my stuff straight from Team Terribles. That kinda stuff just dosent happen there.
Frank L is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 10:27 PM
  #1780  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (46)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Chicago, IL/St.Petersburg,FL
Posts: 2,349
Trader Rating: 46 (100%+)
Default

i go through gregb
transplantlife is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 10:46 PM
  #1781  
Tech Master
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 1,780
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

That's the premium you have to pay to have the newest and latest car on the block... Look at the bright side, you are probably the first few to get to enjoy the car, now that's priceless if you ask me...

Originally Posted by McFly505
What a kick in the balz.....

30 days ago the 408 was $699.99

Today it is $619.99

Thanks Kendall
ganymede is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 10:54 PM
  #1782  
Tech Master
iTrader: (74)
 
ehames005's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Phoenix, Az
Posts: 1,614
Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Frank L
yes mine does too. I havent even messed with it. I got it close when I put it on so I dont know how to adjust it yet. But I would think that if you want more rear I would just unscrew the rear cup a little bit. If you change the total length it will just make the brakes stronger on both sides. Maybe TD can comment on this.

BTW I got my Alum Arms today
Originally Posted by KingKarate757
Got mine yesterday. Nice work.
Glad you like them. Please let me know what you me know when you get them mounted up. I still have some in stock and ready to ship.
ehames005 is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 11:30 PM
  #1783  
Tech Adept
 
Signal151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Atlanta, Ga
Posts: 166
Default

Originally Posted by jpas
Actually changing the linkage length only affects the front brake. The rear is set by EPA and the length of the silicone tube. It is definitely on the touchy side, the AMB mount position is a PIA, but once the brakes are set you really don't need to mess with them until they wear down.
Originally Posted by oggietiu
+1, the link will only affect front brake bias. I really got confused at first but after giving it a look and see how the link moves, jpas is right that you set the front bias via the link and the rear via epa or a good fuel tube. Once you got that down fairly easy to handle as in you dont even have to worry about it till it wears down.
I hear what you all are saying but that goes against my understanding of mechanics and my experience working with brake systems. Unlike most race vehicles, the Durango connects the front and rear brakes directly to one another via a single bias link. Most other vehicles, the Losi for instance, do not connect the brakes directly to one another; rather, each brake has an independent adjustable link to the throttle/brake horn. Thus, you can adjust one without adjusting the other.

When you adjust the Durango's bias link it changes which brake gets more or less of the servo's torque in relation to the other. The EPA setting only affects at what point the servo stops applying power, regardless of which brake is receiving more or less. Case in point, it's possible to lengthen the bias link so much that you wind up with zero rear brake. The front brakes are locked while the rear is still free-spinning. If the bias link only affected the front brake this would not be possible.
Signal151 is offline  
Old 01-19-2011, 11:32 PM
  #1784  
Tech Adept
 
we go hard's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: woodbridge nj
Posts: 111
Default

if you call joe @ absolutehobbyz.com he sells the 408 for 620 as well. since day 1. you might even come off with cheap shipping too. he also has every part in stock as well. great dude. and if you dont feel like making the fuel tank sheild... you can find 1" electrical wire heat shrink. cut and fit it shrink it.. fuel wont eat it and it helps repel fluids. also reduces vibrations.

Last edited by we go hard; 01-19-2011 at 11:55 PM.
we go hard is offline  
Old 01-20-2011, 12:08 AM
  #1785  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,520
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

[QUOTE=waynej;8515655]
Originally Posted by Frank L
I'm using 104f and 116r for droop settings. Try that

How much preload are you running on your shocks for the setting of your ride height (running the same as you with losi green spring to the rear)?

As for shock oil trying 600 front and rear.
Front preload is 5.3mm
Rear preload is 6.0mm

Heres a pic.



Frank L is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.