Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Truggy throttle servo >

Truggy throttle servo

Truggy throttle servo

Old 10-31-2010, 12:11 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 212
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default Truggy throttle servo

So the throttle servo in my Jammin X2 CRT went last race and sent my truggy careening across the track at full throttle. Luckily it flipped before it hit anything and the turn marshall was able to shut it down before my brand new S852 blew. Not sure what happened with it but now when I turn on the radio system the servo just sits there and does nothing for a second or two then goes all the way to full throttle and doesn't respond to any input from the radio. First question, anyone know what would make a servo do that?

Second, what sort of properties should I be looking for in a throttle servo? Should I be looking at the same high torque servos as I use for steering servos? I'm looking at a high torque servo with 208 oz/in and .13 transit time at 6V, will that be good enough?
kommando98 is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 12:20 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (19)
 
Pin2Win's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Wichita Ks
Posts: 1,185
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Make sure your new one is digital. It will help with failsafe. Also put a small rubber band or spring around the slide on your carb. This is just another failsafe. I prefer hitec but any reputable brand will do the job.
Pin2Win is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 12:23 PM
  #3  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

Originally Posted by kommando98 View Post
So the throttle servo in my Jammin X2 CRT went last race and sent my truggy careening across the track at full throttle. Luckily it flipped before it hit anything and the turn marshall was able to shut it down before my brand new S852 blew. Not sure what happened with it but now when I turn on the radio system the servo just sits there and does nothing for a second or two then goes all the way to full throttle and doesn't respond to any input from the radio. First question, anyone know what would make a servo do that?

Second, what sort of properties should I be looking for in a throttle servo? Should I be looking at the same high torque servos as I use for steering servos? I'm looking at a high torque servo with 208 oz/in and .13 transit time at 6V, will that be good enough?



the 208 oz with .13 sounds perfect maybe the brakes will be stronger
i use a throttle servo that has about 138 oz at 6v and i think i need more torque for the brakes for me=y truggy maybe not though.
tc5 man is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 12:47 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Warren, PA
Posts: 463
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

I would try and rebind my radio first and check over there .
nothin special is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 02:09 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
 
Do-Over's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: O-H....I-O
Posts: 513
Default

Also check that it's not your on/off switch. Direct plug the battery to the servo.
Do-Over is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 03:47 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (30)
 
rotarynut's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Duluth,Ga.
Posts: 266
Trader Rating: 30 (100%+)
Smile servo

Go with a new servo,yours has failed internally,the one you are looking at seems plenty strong, I would suggest Hitec they have an unbeatable warranty (2 years) I speak from experience
rotarynut is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 10:40 PM
  #7  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Is your battery charged kommando98 ?
Integra is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 10:44 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 212
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Yup, it had a fresh charge on it. 6V, 1800 mAh pack that had run about 7 min of practice on it before it did this. The steering was still perfectly good too when I turn it on so something just went very wrong in the throttle servo. A return spring wouldnt even have fixed the issue because the servo just goes one direction and that's full throttle then it just stays there til I turn the radio off and manually move it back.
kommando98 is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 11:00 PM
  #9  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kommando98 View Post
Yup, it had a fresh charge on it. 6V, 1800 mAh pack that had run about 7 min of practice on it before it did this. The steering was still perfectly good too when I turn it on so something just went very wrong in the throttle servo. A return spring wouldnt even have fixed the issue because the servo just goes one direction and that's full throttle then it just stays there til I turn the radio off and manually move it back.



Time for some New servos.
Integra is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 11:14 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 212
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Haha isn't it always time for something new in this hobby? I swear one of these days I'm actually gonna finish an entire race night without needing to buy something else before the next race night...or maybe not
kommando98 is offline  
Old 10-31-2010, 11:37 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (10)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Claresholm,Alberta
Posts: 1,484
Trader Rating: 10 (92%+)
Default

I would look at the Savox 1258. PM Me if you are interested.
shanem121 is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 11:34 AM
  #12  
Tech Addict
 
rcgeezer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Sacramento CA
Posts: 688
Default

I've been running the Hitec 5625MG servo on my D8t for throttle, and it works flawlessly. You don't have to break the bank with an expensive servo on throttle, and if you look around including Ebay you can get them fairly cheaply. I go with Hitec because of their warranty...simply can't be beat! I've had their servos fail for the weirdest reasons and they've always either fixed them or replaced them. That's all I need to convince me...
rcgeezer is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 12:13 PM
  #13  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by rcgeezer View Post
I've been running the Hitec 5625MG servo on my D8t for throttle, and it works flawlessly. You don't have to break the bank with an expensive servo on throttle, and if you look around including Ebay you can get them fairly cheaply. I go with Hitec because of their warranty...simply can't be beat! I've had their servos fail for the weirdest reasons and they've always either fixed them or replaced them. That's all I need to convince me...
Awe come on breaking the bank can pay off on the track...

Check out what just arrived today>>>



@7.4V: 242.9 oz-in (17.6 Kg-cm) @ 0.06 S @ 60
@7.4V: 436.1 oz-in (31.6 Kg-cm) @ 0.11 S @ 60
Frank L is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 12:39 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (16)
 
guntek18's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 298
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Awe come on breaking the bank can pay off on the track...

Check out what just arrived today>>>



@7.4V: 242.9 oz-in (17.6 Kg-cm) @ 0.06 S @ 60
@7.4V: 436.1 oz-in (31.6 Kg-cm) @ 0.11 S @ 60
FRANK,

those specs. dont look right.
which is 6.0v and which is 7.4v ??

Generally its: lower voltage/lower torque and slower transit times.
guntek18 is offline  
Old 11-01-2010, 12:47 PM
  #15  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by guntek18 View Post
FRANK,

those specs. dont look right.
which is 6.0v and which is 7.4v ??

Generally its: lower voltage/lower torque and slower transit times.
Those are all #'s for running on lipo @ 7.4v
BTW they come in a composite case for a little less $$, but these are the full alum case version.

Heres the full story>>

KO30100 (speed servo)
Torque:
@6V: 200.1 oz-in (14.5 Kg-cm)
@7.4V: 242.9 oz-in (17.6 Kg-cm)
Speed:
@6V: 0.07 S @ 60
@7.4V: 0.06 S @ 60


KO30101 (torque servo)
Torque:

Torque:
@6V: 362.9 oz-in (26.3 Kg-cm)
@7.4V: 436.1 oz-in (31.6 Kg-cm)
Speed:
@6V: 0.13 S @ 60
@7.4V: 0.11 S @ 60
Frank L is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.