Wiki Posts
Search

Help w/ Mechanical Brakes

Search this Thread

Old 06-30-2010, 08:37 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default Help w/ Mechanical Brakes

I am not a newbie, but I am an electric guy and not too familiar with the ins and outs of mechanical brakes,so I figured I would ask the nitro guys.

Long story short, I have a Hot Bodies ve8 and want to use the mechanical brake option for better brake bias. I installed the brakes and burnt up two sets of Hot Bodies brake pads in like 5 minutes of running and can't figure out why.

The first set of pads essentially disintegrated, both front and rear. I ordered a new set and installed them, and the front brake pad scorched pretty bad. The rear one seems to be holding up ok. The brake calipers are also scorched up bad as well.

What causes this? There is no binding in whatsoever with the drive train or the brake pads. I am using a JR 9100s servo for the brake servo. I have the brakes set to slow the car down hard, but not enough to lock up the wheels. Bias was probably 30/70. I only race my car, so it was only geared for maybe 40mph-42mph tops so it is not like I am trying to stop a 100mph speed run.

The brakes start off working well and then after a minute or two essentially stop slowing the car down and scorching really bad (I can smell it burning). After a few more minutes, the brake pads are essentially destroyed.

Thanks for your help.
Old 07-01-2010, 08:32 AM
Tech Elite

No one has had their brake pads disintegrate/burn up?
Old 07-01-2010, 09:24 AM
Team Tekin

Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)

Thats very odd. I run Mech. brakes on my Ve8 and have never had an issue with mine. The only thing I can think of right now is the linkage is getting caught or hung up on something. Also, make sure your pads have some play between the screws and the pad themselves when not engaged.

I'll keep thinking about this one.....

Last edited by yzracer758; 07-01-2010 at 09:36 AM.
Old 07-01-2010, 09:30 AM
Tech Addict