Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
D8 owners with the Tekno Chassis >

D8 owners with the Tekno Chassis

D8 owners with the Tekno Chassis

Reply

Old 06-07-2010, 05:41 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
GSMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Under Mount Etna
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default D8 owners with the Tekno Chassis

What are you doing about droop screws? I tried and search and did not come up with a solution. The stock droop screws will not work with the Tekno chassis due to the recesses in the chassis. I thought about trying the RC8B droop screws as they have more of a button head and look like they would solve the issue. Are there any other solutions out there?

Thanks for your time.
GSMike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 05:55 PM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (43)
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Pittsburgh, Pa
Posts: 722
Trader Rating: 43 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GSMike View Post
What are you doing about droop screws? I tried and search and did not come up with a solution. The stock droop screws will not work with the Tekno chassis due to the recesses in the chassis. I thought about trying the RC8B droop screws as they have more of a button head and look like they would solve the issue. Are there any other solutions out there?

Thanks for your time.
I am having trouble understanding your question but my chassis has bevel/angled screws that are threaded into the chassis and the stock set screw in the suspension arm hits those four screws. When the 4 screws are worn out, instal new ones. If you cant find screws that are short enough, just stick some longer ones in there and dremel off the extra from underneath the chassis.
crazysavage is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 06:05 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
GSMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Under Mount Etna
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by crazysavage View Post
I am having trouble understanding your question but my chassis has bevel/angled screws that are threaded into the chassis and the stock set screw in the suspension arm hits those four screws. When the 4 screws are worn out, instal new ones. If you cant find screws that are short enough, just stick some longer ones in there and dremel off the extra from underneath the chassis.
Let me try to be more clear. The droop screws that came with my D8 are the "headless" screws meaning that they only have threads and no type of screw "head".

When these droop screws go down into the recesses they are not long enough to support the arms. They also seem to "hang up" or "catch" on the chassis if I try to tighten them down for less droop for a smooth track application. It appears that if I used a type of screw with a "head" on it, such as the RC8 screws, it would work by allowing the screw heads to fill the recess and provide more resistance to support the arms.
GSMike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 06:23 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 243
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

I think you may be missing screws.There is not supposed to be recesses they should have screws in the chassis filling those holes.Then the droop screws in the arms rest on the screw head of the screw that fills the recess.I hope this is what you are after.
ace955 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 07:54 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Posts: 654
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

The Associated screws are the wrong size, 1-mm too small. (at least the truggy ones are) I was looking at them for my D8T.
one8updragracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 08:01 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
GSMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Under Mount Etna
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ace955 View Post
I think you may be missing screws.There is not supposed to be recesses they should have screws in the chassis filling those holes.Then the droop screws in the arms rest on the screw head of the screw that fills the recess.I hope this is what you are after.
This helps quite a bit. My chassis did not come with screws.
GSMike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2010, 10:05 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
 
wallot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 872
Default

maybe it did they are really small

M3x4 (4mm long in the total including head)
wallot is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 06-08-2010, 12:21 AM
  #8  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by GSMike View Post
This helps quite a bit. My chassis did not come with screws.
I just checked the bag that the Techno Chassis comes in and there are no screws. I see the holes where the droop screws sit on the chassis, but there are no screws included with the D8 Chassis. Maybe they forgot to pack them? Its not possible to run this chassis without filling those holes..The holes are directly where your droop screws would touch the chassis. Might I add that this is a brilliant design as the screws always wear giant holes in the chassis. Techno really hit a home run with replaceable screws where the droop is
Jaz240 is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service