R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   HB D8 new build questions (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/394602-hb-d8-new-build-questions.html)

sjracing 05-02-2010 07:37 AM

HB D8 new build questions

I will start off by saying that I am new to nitro. I am going to build a 1/8 HB D8 buggy. Have decided on the Werks motor...
1) What servos are a good for this buggy? Nice middle of the road, expense wise, that will last..
2) What do you do to waterproof them?
3) What is a good starter box to get?
4) My radio DX3.0 does not have telemetry..Can I just use a handheld to measure temps?
5) Anything else I should know/buy before I start the project?
Thanks all in advance..

blktransam 05-02-2010 07:57 AM

I see u are new to the site welcome. also welcome to the HB family. great buggy. everyone will have diff. opinions on whats good and whats not. I like futaba servos. I run the bls351,bls451,and s9351...them are what I have in all my vehicles.

starter box go with the ofna BLUE truggy starter box

the dx3.0 will work just fine. and yes u can use a handheld temp gun no problem (not many people use the telemtry stuff anyhow) but DO NOT tune your engine by temp alone use smoke and sound as main refrence. check out some videos on tuning and read about it if this is your first time "tuning"

good luck and check out the HOT BODIES D8 thread

Ryan

sjracing 05-02-2010 08:13 AM

Originally Posted by blktransam (Post 7348602)
I see u are new to the site welcome. also welcome to the HB family. great buggy. everyone will have diff. opinions on whats good and whats not. I like futaba servos. I run the bls351,bls451,and s9351...them are what I have in all my vehicles.

starter box go with the ofna BLUE truggy starter box