Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Lipos for reciever packs? >

Lipos for reciever packs?

Lipos for reciever packs?

Reply

Old 02-25-2010, 09:17 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kamloops bc
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Lipos for reciever packs?

Hey boys... Does anyone use 2cell lipos for receiver packs ? I want to run one with my spectrum sr3300t reciever in my savage. Would I need a bec to step the voltage down to six volts or would the receiver do that for me? Would I be able to run turnigy high voltage servos with this and not have a bec? Also do lipos make good reciever packs?
nitrofreak07 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 09:38 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (16)
 
supralative's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma
Posts: 944
Trader Rating: 16 (100%+)
Default

Your receiver can handle it, your servo choice might not be able to handle it.
Alot of people are running lipo receiver packs.
I run the Protek in the buggy and the Reedy in the truggy. I still use voltage regulator as my servos are not publicly advertised to handle 7.4volts. I have used them at 7.4 for one race weekend and there were no issues.
supralative is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-25-2010, 11:12 PM
  #3  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (13)
 
thrash metal's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: toronto,canada
Posts: 287
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default re lipo receiver packs

ive been using 2s lipo receiver packs since last season without a voltage regulator without any problems.

using the trusty hitec 5955 tg for steering and its still going strong.

i was running a jr high voltage steering servo but the gears in the servo crapped out early last season so i put in the hi tec 5955 tg in its place and no problems. i also ran this servo in my truggy for crcrc and motorama .

imo hi tec servos are the most reliable and longest lasting servos you can buy.
thrash metal is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 05:04 PM
  #4  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (2)
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Kamloops bc
Posts: 151
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

How many milliamps (mah) should the recuever pack be?
nitrofreak07 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 05:07 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

A 900mAh pack will give you about 40 min of run time and a 2000 mAh pack will give you about 2 hrs. Depends on how much you wanna spend.
pyromania is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 05:08 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
madweazl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,579
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

I run the Losi 2000mah with a Specktrum and Hitec 7950s. I've been ruined for life I think.
madweazl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 06:00 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Grimlock212's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Palo Alto, CA
Posts: 382
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by madweazl View Post
I run the Losi 2000mah with a Specktrum and Hitec 7950s. I've been ruined for life I think.
Yeah I used the Losi 2000mah through a SR3300T receiver and use 2 Hitec 7955 servos and it works great.
Grimlock212 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 06:14 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
ScottyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami OK
Posts: 3,149
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

1600 Mah is good for the whole day. I run a 2100 in Truggy and will run a 2300 in buggy. I balance between heats, not needed, for reassurance.. I'ld hate to have one dump on me in a Main..
ScottyM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-26-2010, 06:18 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
madweazl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,579
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by (MRC)Scotty! View Post
1600 Mah is good for the whole day. I run a 2100 in Truggy and will run a 2300 in buggy. I balance between heats, not needed, for reassurance.. I'ld hate to have one dump on me in a Main..
After my last race weekend I put 1723 into the pack I didnt top it at all through the day but I'll probably start doing so now.
madweazl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 06:14 AM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
ScottyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami OK
Posts: 3,149
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by madweazl View Post
After my last race weekend I put 1723 into the pack I didnt top it at all through the day but I'll probably start doing so now.
How long was your main and how long did you practice? Both of those can make a world of difference.. And is one reason I top them off between rounds..
ScottyM is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 07:08 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (11)
 
madweazl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Woodbridge, VA
Posts: 2,579
Trader Rating: 11 (100%+)
Default

A number of practice runs (3-4 tanks, ~9 minutes each), 2 x 5 minute qualifiers, a 1 x 10 minute main. If I had to guess, 50 minutes of driving time.
madweazl is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 02-27-2010, 07:20 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (27)
 
ScottyM's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Miami OK
Posts: 3,149
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

90 minutes would be about right.. I've gone that long before, with a charge..
ScottyM is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service