Wiki Posts
Search

First big race question

Search this Thread

Old 01-15-2010, 12:08 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default First big race question

I will be racing at motorama this year and had a question for you guys. I am kinda nervous about the bigger jumps that will be at this event. How should i properly approach this dilemma? at events like this, are the big jumps roll-able if i don't feel comfortable just hucking my car? I have been racing for two years at our local track (hobby hut) and i feel comfortable with their jumps. but i don't think their big jumps are going to be as big as the ones at motorama. i just dont want to destroy my car or more importantly another competitors car. thanks for the help.
Old 01-15-2010, 12:17 PM
Tech Initiate

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

First time is always nervous, roll em, get comfy with the lines and then just go for it. After you do it once, you're hooked on going big. Another great way to learn the lines and speeds is to phantom another car who knows the jumps/track. Follow his lines and speed a few times and before you know it, you're flyin'.
Old 01-15-2010, 12:30 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)

Go for it during practice! You'll crash but you'll only learn if you try it. Just think of it this way. It's not your body going over the jump as if you were on a dirt bike and it's not your fellow racers body either, so what is the real damage.
Old 01-15-2010, 12:34 PM
Tech Elite

Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe

You need to run enough during practice time to get comfortable with the track. THEN decide based on risk/reward. i.e. it is faster to take the jump, but can I make it consistantly? Because it is also faster to roll the jump than to be on your lid waiting for the marshall.
Old 01-15-2010, 01:01 PM
Tech Master

Originally Posted by fievel