Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Engine head crashed do i have to change it? >

Engine head crashed do i have to change it?

Engine head crashed do i have to change it?

Old 12-20-2009, 06:17 AM
  #1  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default Engine head crashed do i have to change it?

Ok guys....I think this could only happen to me....

I recently changed the front lower arm on my buggy, i bought package of two but as only one was broken i tough I'll change just one... However later when i went to the park i realized that new arm i changed is for some reason a bit shorter then the other one... And the buggy was a bit unstable... But still i wanted to run one tank to tune the carb..,

And one of my friends was going home and he was like lets race, and yeah i lost the control over the buggy and u guess what happends... It went under the wheel of his 1.5 tone car

I thought thats it say goodbye to my buggy but i was lucky that he went over the rear wheels,missing the servo by a mm...

So now i have to change 2 back wheels,axle and one dog bone that i couldnt find after the crash... But im not sure do i have to change the Engine cooling head as it is broken on one side... I guess that part is just for cooling the engine? And not sure is there going to be big difference if i dont change it... There is a photo of it so what do u think?
ShonEPFC is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 06:17 AM
  #2  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default

sorry for some reason i cant post photos???
ShonEPFC is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 07:28 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (33)
 
MTclassPro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Wlsn, NC
Posts: 1,298
Trader Rating: 33 (95%+)
Default

Go to photobucket.us

then upload your photo.
find the direct link of it and copy it
then when you wanna post an image on here do this
[IMG] <the direct link> [/IMG]
then post you should be all set
MTclassPro is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 07:34 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (31)
 
pickle311's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,650
Trader Rating: 31 (100%+)
Default

They have a minimum post requirement to post pictures.

The head on the engine is for cooling. Anything that inhibits air flow across the fins is going to affect the efficiency. Some things will be worse than others and it really depends on the overall condition of the head. I would suggest posting a link to a picture or something so we can see it. Have you tried turning the motor over? Does it still have compression?
pickle311 is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 09:48 AM
  #5  
Tech Rookie
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 8
Default

Originally Posted by pickle311 View Post
They have a minimum post requirement to post pictures.

The head on the engine is for cooling. Anything that inhibits air flow across the fins is going to affect the efficiency. Some things will be worse than others and it really depends on the overall condition of the head. I would suggest posting a link to a picture or something so we can see it. Have you tried turning the motor over? Does it still have compression?
Not sure what should i do, u mean turn the engine upside down and see if its gonna keep running?
ShonEPFC is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 10:34 AM
  #6  
Tech Initiate
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Posts: 40
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

he means check the compression of the motor, turn the motor over by turning the flywheel with your hand if its real easy and dont get tight its not sealing right
jluck is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 10:58 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
R/C Lidz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: Clayton, NC
Posts: 2,759
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by ShonEPFC View Post
u mean turn the engine upside down and see if its gonna keep running?
that's funny, I don't care who you are
R/C Lidz is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 11:00 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (59)
 
blktransam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: IOWA
Posts: 4,267
Trader Rating: 59 (100%+)
Default

ahh man that was great sorry I had a good chuckle after reading that
blktransam is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 11:14 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (47)
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 1,807
Trader Rating: 47 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by R/C Lidz View Post
that's funny, I don't care who you are
True but cruel Josh.
rageworks is offline  
Old 12-20-2009, 12:22 PM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (29)
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: tallahassee, FL
Posts: 695
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by R/C Lidz View Post
that's funny, I don't care who you are
it sure is! agreed
slayyer is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.