Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Switching fuels >

Switching fuels

Switching fuels

Old 12-19-2009, 07:49 PM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 65
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Switching fuels

I went to go get some fuel last night from my LHS and he asked me what fuel I was running. I asked why and he said that whatever fuel I use to break in the motor with, that I should never switch to a different fuel for the life of the motor. Is this true?

So far I have ran 1 quart through the thing, overall I have really enjoyed it. Other than a few small issues I have been really happy. The only real issue that I haven't been able to fix is this electrical issue. At least I think it is some kinda electrical issue.
http://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-of...cal-issue.html
kur1j is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 08:21 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (5)
 
Unsober1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 315
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Brand of fuel ??
That is for the most part is a personal preference. The oil is what varies. And different brands will take a different tune

Nitro content will/may affect motor life

People have been arguing which fuel is better for years.

I say find whats available, affordable, and you can get a good tune on, and stay with it. But changing fuels in a pinch will dont affect much
Unsober1 is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 08:35 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
Stubbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,184
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Don't change to a different fuel for the life of the motor?!?! Sounds like the LHS is getting a kickback from the fuel distributor...

I had this same question not too long ago. Going to a different brand of fuel will not cause any detriment to your engine. Keep in mind though, that if you change nitro content, say going from 20% to 30% or vice versa, you will likely have to change the number of shims under the head.

I've got a Traxxas 2.5R in a T-Maxx that I've been messing around with. I broke in the motor on O'Donnells, and ran a gallon through it. Now I'm about 80% of the way through a gallon of Byrons, and I just picked up some Torco. I'm trying a different gallon each time to figure out which fuel I like the most.

Find a brand you like, and stick with it, but don't be afraid to try something new from time to time. You never know, you might find that you like that one more.
Stubbs is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 08:51 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (15)
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Hutchinson Ks
Posts: 427
Trader Rating: 15 (100%+)
Default

I have a motor I have been running for awhile now it was broke in with trinity monster horsepower 20% I switched it to byrons 30% and now to torco 30% the only thing I did was retune still running no prob
CrazyFast1 is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 09:07 PM
  #5  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (1)
 
littlelane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: vinita ok
Posts: 198
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

switching fuels is not a problem but flush the motor of all your previous fuel before running the new fuel not all oils mix
littlelane is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 09:34 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (52)
 
thenova70ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,555
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

I switched form Bryon's 20% to ColdFusion 30% and never had a Problem My motor ran even better with ColdFusion 30% so that is the Fuel for me. But as the guys said it is not a bad thing to try other fuels it wont hurt your motor at all and you might find a better fuel for you motor and you driving style.
thenova70ss is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 09:42 PM
  #7  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 65
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by littlelane View Post
switching fuels is not a problem but flush the motor of all your previous fuel before running the new fuel not all oils mix
How do you "flush" the motor?
If I was going to switch from say 30% O'Donnell's to another manufacturers 30% fuel what would be the process?

The RTR buggy had o'Donnell's 30% shipped with it. I went ahead and got another gallon of the O'Donnell's from my local hobby shop as I wasn't really sure. I'm not trying to be "cheap" but it does seem that the price of the O'Donnell's fuel is 50% more than everything else.

Where do you recommend buying fuel?
kur1j is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 09:47 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (52)
 
thenova70ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,555
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

If you wont to try some GREAT fuel give ColdFusion Fuel a try it is the BEST fuel i have ever run you wont go wrong with ColdFusion 30% if you would like to try some send me a PM and i will give you Ron's Number you can give him a call he is the Owner and Maker of ColdFusion.
thenova70ss is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 09:48 PM
  #9  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (24)
 
wingracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 13,118
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Switching fuels isn't a problem as long as it's a good fuel.

I do like to break the motor in with the same fuel I plan to race with. I don't buy the whole "special break-in fuel" deal, though adding a little extra oil for break-in isn't a bad idea. Once it's been broke in and run a while, run whatever good fuel you can get.
wingracer is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 09:52 PM
  #10  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

Originally Posted by kur1j View Post
How do you "flush" the motor?
If I was going to switch from say 30% O'Donnell's to another manufacturers 30% fuel what would be the process?

The RTR buggy had o'Donnell's 30% shipped with it. I went ahead and got another gallon of the O'Donnell's from my local hobby shop as I wasn't really sure. I'm not trying to be "cheap" but it does seem that the price of the O'Donnell's fuel is 50% more than everything else.

Where do you recommend buying fuel?





does your lhs sell byrons fuel if so thats what u want and its cheaper than,
odonnel fuel, u can order a case of fuel. that has 4 gallons thats $80 which, doesnt include tax and shipping hazmat. but it will last you pretty long.
tc5 man is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 09:53 PM
  #11  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

Originally Posted by littlelane View Post
switching fuels is not a problem but flush the motor of all your previous fuel before running the new fuel not all oils mix


yea i never heard of that
tc5 man is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 09:55 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (52)
 
thenova70ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,555
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

ColdFusion sales a Brake in Oil you add to your fuel to brake in a motor i have used it on 2 motors and it worked GREAT made the motor brake much better and a lot EZer on the Rod and Pinch of the sleeve and the Brake in Oil will Last for ever you just add it to the fuel you are using and when the motor is broke in save the rest for other new motors.
thenova70ss is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 10:04 PM
  #13  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Posts: 65
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by tc5 man View Post
does your lhs sell byrons fuel if so thats what u want and its cheaper than,
odonnel fuel, u can order a case of fuel. that has 4 gallons thats $80 which, doesnt include tax and shipping hazmat. but it will last you pretty long.
Hobbytown is the only hobby shop I know of near me. I was out of fuel and needed some to keep playing with it this weekend so I went ahead and got some anyways.

Where did you find that fuel for 80 dollars a case?
kur1j is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 10:18 PM
  #14  
Tech Master
iTrader: (52)
 
thenova70ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,555
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by kur1j View Post
Hobbytown is the only hobby shop I know of near me. I was out of fuel and needed some to keep playing with it this weekend so I went ahead and got some anyways.

Where did you find that fuel for 80 dollars a case?
He said $80 which, doesnt include tax and shipping hazmat after you add Shipping and Tax and Hazmat it will be more like 130.00 a case the Hazmat is High.
thenova70ss is offline  
Old 12-19-2009, 11:09 PM
  #15  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

kur1j now if u do spend the $130 for a case of fuel, in the long run it wil
help ,but i usaully dont do that i just buy 2 gallons of fuel.
man i dont why they charge that much for has mat.


but really if u run out of a gallon of fuel,just buy 2 gallons of fuel.
tc5 man is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.