R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   Trouble Starting RB S9??? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/338929-trouble-starting-rb-s9.html)

bosshog64 10-25-2009 07:45 PM

Trouble Starting RB S9???

Ok so Im new to nitro, have a RB S 9 thats pretty much still in the break in process (its had an idle tank, 2 tanks and cooling process on a breakin table and about 3 tanks on the track) Anyway, I used the heat gun before starting it up today to run gas through it around the house, got it started, ran if for about 5 min or so and when I pulled it in to check the engine temp, it died. Now Im having touble getting the motor to turn over. My wheels are spinning while its on the starter box, but the motor doesnt seem to be crankng...what gives?

This is on a Losi 8T with an ofna 2motor starting box. Thanks for the help guys, it just seems like the flywheel is slipping. I can rotate the flywheel round and round and a buddy of mine was saying it needed to only go up and down, so Im just trying to get it figured out so I can go drive it!

McFly505 10-25-2009 08:14 PM

Pull the plug and see if the piston goes up and down when you turn the flywheel.

If the wheels are spinning, then the clutch is engaged.

Keep it simple and you will be fine.
Pull the motor off the truck, remove the bell and check for stuck shoes.
Then check that the flywheel is tight.
If there are burrs on the shoes, remove them and de-burr with a file.

Let us know what you find.

j_blaze14 10-25-2009 08:17 PM

clutch nut loose... tightened up the shims with the bearings... with the losi clutch nut you have to locktite and tighten it like your life depends on it.

merdith6 10-25-2009 11:49 PM

Hmm