Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
To filter, or not to filter? That is the question.... >

To filter, or not to filter? That is the question....

To filter, or not to filter? That is the question....

Reply

Old 10-25-2009, 08:21 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
Krawlin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Sierra Vista, Arizona
Posts: 252
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default To filter, or not to filter? That is the question....

So I am wondering, do you guys prefer to run a fuel filter or no fuel filter? I ask because I seem to get different opinions from everyone at my track. Some run them and say they are good for a few things besides filtering fuel, like extra fuel when you are upside down so your engine doesn't flame out. Some don't run fuel filters and say the one in the tank is good enough at keeping dirt out of the engine and fuel filters usually have leaks and let air in the lines and are more trouble than they are worth.

Do you run a fuel filter? Why or why not?
Krawlin is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 08:30 AM
  #2  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (29)
 
Madbrad's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 727
Trader Rating: 29 (100%+)
Default

I use a fuel filter for two reason, one it never hurt to have extra help in keeping the dirt out of the motor. Two it gives you a little extra fuel when your on your lid. I have never had an issue with the filter leaking or cause ait leaks, maybe im luck .
Madbrad is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 08:36 AM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (32)
 
sickpuppy1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Gardner,KS
Posts: 1,617
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

Dont know if you seal your carb, but after you put the filter together, take a little carb sealer and run it around the seam of the filter, or maybe a little on the threads? I put it around the seam so I dont risk getting sealer into the fuel stream. Also, many people make a tiny oring made of fuel line and stretch it over the line where it sits on the fuel filter to help hold it tighter. I have those on all my fittings and never have air leaks.
sickpuppy1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 08:41 AM
  #4  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (4)
 
GSMike's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Under Mount Etna
Posts: 189
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Madbrad View Post
I use a fuel filter for two reason, one it never hurt to have extra help in keeping the dirt out of the motor. Two it gives you a little extra fuel when your on your lid. I have never had an issue with the filter leaking or cause ait leaks, maybe im luck .
I agree here. You can't have too much protection.

I use the Hanger 9 filter and it's been great. Also, for a little added "leak" protection, I take a small amount of heat-shrink tubing and encase the filter and about 1/2" of fuel line on either side. You cut it off carefully when you clean the filter and then reapply a new piece.
GSMike is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 09:17 AM
  #5  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (95)
 
houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: portland OR
Posts: 15,409
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Use the kyosho fuel filter , excellent quality . I have never had one leak in 7 years of running kyosho cars . Just assemble with a little oil such as rbmods synth. ARO and the filyter will go together smooth as silk and air leak free .


Happy motorin',
Monty
houston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 09:37 AM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (36)
 
awdcameolsx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 591
Trader Rating: 36 (100%+)
Default

On my mugens I would run the large mugen filter and a lot of line. That was great for keeping it running on its lid. But if you got a clunk tank like the Hot Bodies rigs or the Losi rigs then it isn't really that important. I will however be changing the clunks half way threw this season just in case there is some dirt or junk in there.
awdcameolsx is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 10:47 AM
  #7  
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4,354
Default

I don't run a extra filter. It makes my engines harder to tune. They allways seem to make my day harder.

It's only a screen anyway. The in tank filter deos all the real filtering. The extra filter just catches chunks of the tanks filter should the stone in tank filter start breaking up RC8 style. Just have to remember to clean up the in tank filter ever once in a while.

Even if that happens its easy enough to pull the needles and clean the carb up.

Usually my filters just hold an air pocket that waits until the main to bleed out and flame me.
Zerodefect is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 09:32 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
fast11970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Freeport Texas
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

My M.O. Yep I run them..With No Stone (Filter) My buggy's Fuel tank is a bit undersize, I do not check the in tank filter..I try to run clean fuel, I burn about 3/4's a gallon a week, In the Truggy I am still Runnin the filer..But the Buggy..Its Just two lil tanks o fuel..
fast11970 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 09:52 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (25)
 
Racecrafter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: RC Mecca
Posts: 4,138
Trader Rating: 25 (96%+)
Default

Nothing wrong with running a fuel filter however we have found that the tune stays more consistant without them.
Racecrafter is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 10:07 PM
  #10  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (95)
 
houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: portland OR
Posts: 15,409
Trader Rating: 95 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Racecrafter View Post
Nothing wrong with running a fuel filter however we have found that the tune stays more consistant without them.
Unless you are at the nitro pit in AZ
houston is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-25-2009, 10:17 PM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Does anyone run a filter just on the pressure line? Or is it just me?
Cory Kerber is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 04:42 AM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: All Over So. Fla.
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cory Kerber View Post
Does anyone run a filter just on the pressure line? Or is it just me?
UH, I think they both have pressure on 'em.
The Working Man is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 06:39 AM
  #13  
Tech Addict
 
NuthinFancy91's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127 Rose Avenue
Posts: 747
Default

Originally Posted by Cory Kerber View Post
Does anyone run a filter just on the pressure line? Or is it just me?
I run one, and my Dad does also. It took away the bogging after pit stops.

-NuthinFancy91
NuthinFancy91 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2009, 07:29 AM
  #14  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 3,816
Default

Naa - -dont run one here. I have had no benifit with running one, but I have had some negitives. I ran the mugen filter. Went through two engines before we found out that it was the filter causing all the tuning issues. plus I got teched once and was over my max CC's and had to put stones in the tank. Once I took off the filter - no more problems.
token is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service