Wiki Posts
Search

Help buying new 1/8th nitro buggy

Search this Thread

Old 10-01-2009, 02:04 AM
Tech Adept

Default Help buying new 1/8th nitro buggy

Hello people,

I used to race 1/10th electric offroad buggies for 10 years. Now after 5 years I want to start racing 1/8th nitro buggies. What kits do you recommend? Have in mind that I am a good driver and I can take the heat

Thanks in advance for the knowledge you will pass to me.
Old 10-01-2009, 02:14 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 18 (95%+)

Hot Bodies D8
Mugen MBX6
Losi 8
AE RC8B
Old 10-01-2009, 02:30 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Cool

Depends how much $$$ ya wanna spend...I have just got RC8B, nice car
comes down to personal preference, and wot manufactures you like,
good luck with ur decision, and hope ur happy with the one you make...
Old 10-01-2009, 02:39 AM
Tech Champion

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

Read thru all the specific car forums(8t 2.0 8b 2.0 mbx6 mbx6t rc8b(if that one exist) etc. )

see which one you like, all will have problems just remember that. It comes down to driving. most of the newer cars will preform about the same. look into what your hobby shop carries as well. Good luck
Old 10-01-2009, 02:57 AM
Tech Adept

Thanks for the replies!!!

I was thinking one of the following:
Hot Bodies D8
Mugen MBX6
Losi 8ight 2.0
AE RC8B

Money is not an issue since I am saving up for this for a long time now

A quick question...is there a ready to run losi 8ight 2.0 and a kit losi 8ight 2.0(no engine no electronics)?
Old 10-01-2009, 06:51 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

Yes, the Race Roller has no engine or electronics, but better chassis/towers/etc.
The rtr has stamped chassis/towers/etc and dx3s radio and motor.
Old 10-01-2009, 06:59 AM
Tech Adept

8ight 2.0 RTR also comes with a starter box. The overall package Losi put together is sweet.
Old 10-01-2009, 07:02 AM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

add X-ray to the list any any of them will be fine.