Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Making R/C a family event - my observations, but looking for more ideas! >

Making R/C a family event - my observations, but looking for more ideas!

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Making R/C a family event - my observations, but looking for more ideas!

Search this Thread

Old 10-05-2009, 10:37 AM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Making R/C a family event - my observations, but looking for more ideas!

When I was in HS, I spent a TON of time on RC - I used to race indoor carpet 1/10 and 1/12, outdoor asphalt, and dirt. I LOVED it, and my dad was into it for a little while, but it was pretty much just me. I let the hobby go for a long time (I graduated in 1992, and just now getting back into the hobby).

I am a single dad who has my boys living with me - and I would love to get them into the hobby since it is a lot of good things - learning the mechanics of the vehicles, the proper etiquette and respect for the other drivers, etc, as well as the FUN of dad/son time.

I have an 8 (1.0) and a T-Maxx 3.3, and I am starting to get my older son into the hobby by letting him drive my Maxx when I am using the 8. I don't want to give him my Maxx, because I like to be able to bash about, but getting him his own is something I am reluctant to do until I really know how much he is gonna get into the hobby. So here's what I have been thinking, I would love to hear what others are doing to get their kids involved.

- I got a 1/16 ERevo for him to play around with - small, inexpensive, easy to operate (has a training mode!) and easy to maintain.
- I started letting him drive the Maxx in the back yard - give him the general feel of Nitro/larger vehicles and get used to playing with the vehicle controls feel like.