Wiki Posts
Search

Oh crap, did I break it?

Search this Thread

Old 10-03-2009, 04:16 PM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Oh crap, did I break it?

I just went out to get my idle problem fixed and my 8ight 2.0 RTR overheated after a few minutes so I turned the idle down and let it cool. Then I tried starting it later and it revved for a second and then died all of the sudden.

And so I pushed down on the ignitor again but I didnt get a response from the motor and the wheels started to turn. And I can spin the flywheel infinitely with my finger.

What happened? Did I break the engine?
Old 10-03-2009, 04:18 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)

i think your flywheel nut came loose
Old 10-03-2009, 04:20 PM
Tech Addict

Originally Posted by coviello
i think your flywheel nut came loose
Where might that be? Sorry, Im new to nitro.
Old 10-03-2009, 04:43 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)

Originally Posted by clamber
Where might that be? Sorry, Im new to nitro.
behind the clutch bell. take it off and there will be a big nut in there.
Old 10-03-2009, 04:55 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=0C5Xz...layer_embedded
Old 10-03-2009, 07:11 PM
Tech Addict

Okay I got the engine off and the cooling head off as well. What do I do to get the rest off so I can tighten the nut?
Old 10-03-2009, 07:17 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)

No need to remove the cooling head. You'll need to remove the clutch bell and then the clutch springs/shoes. You'll need a pick or tiny screwdriver to remove the clutch springs. Then remove the shoes and tighten the nut.
Old 10-03-2009, 07:52 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)

this happend to me when i got my 2.0, i would stop and take it to your lhs because you will need a special tool or you will break the crank like i did
Old 10-03-2009, 08:12 PM
Tech Regular

Originally Posted by bigblockt-maxx