Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
2 cell lipo for receiver pack??? >

2 cell lipo for receiver pack???

2 cell lipo for receiver pack???

Reply

Old 09-08-2009, 10:47 AM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (43)
 
bad_b4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Post Falls,Idaho
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 43 (98%+)
Default 2 cell lipo for receiver pack???

i have a spektrum pro receiver,older 94357 airtronics servos...would running a 2 cell lipo directly to the receiver smoke anything?
bad_b4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 11:18 AM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (2)
 
PTP Racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Posts: 2,701
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

I am 99% certain airtronics servos cannot be run with an unregulated lipo.
PTP Racing is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 12:38 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (20)
 
slaytanic's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 2,171
Trader Rating: 20 (95%+)
Default

I know your rx can handle it. Not sure on the servo. I run unregulated through a airtronics dsss rx with ace servos no problems
slaytanic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 12:55 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (9)
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 378
Trader Rating: 9 (91%+)
Default

Eric,


A fully charged 5 cell NIMH runs anywhere between 7.25 and 8 volts. 2 cell lipos charge to 7.4. Your fine. Everyone here runs without a regulator...
Theslowguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 01:29 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (60)
 
smokinu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MODESTO CA
Posts: 4,863
Trader Rating: 60 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Theslowguy View Post
Eric,


A fully charged 5 cell NIMH runs anywhere between 7.25 and 8 volts. 2 cell lipos charge to 7.4. Your fine. Everyone here runs without a regulator...
a lipo charges to well over 8.4 volts sir
smokinu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 02:54 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4,354
Default

I plugged an Airtronics Servo that I'm sending in for a tuneup along with a broken servo soon.

Its a hs digital that i use In my B44.


It did not like unregulated Lipo, no smoke but it was a buzzing and twitching.
Zerodefect is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 03:02 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
 
RJNicholson's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Allen, TX (another burb of Dallas)
Posts: 371
Default

Digital Servos will always have a hum to them. Its just they way the Motor and Amp work/sound in digital.

Nothing wrong with the servo it's normal, but the twitching could be the first gear going bad, or the Motor and Amp stressing under High Voltage.
RJNicholson is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 06:16 PM
  #8  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by smokinu View Post
a lipo charges to well over 8.4 volts sir


Not well over but 8.4v to be exact.


Very few servo's can run unregulated lipo and live to talk another day...Hitec's are one of them.
Integra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 06:21 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (60)
 
smokinu's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: MODESTO CA
Posts: 4,863
Trader Rating: 60 (98%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Integra View Post
Not well over but 8.4v to be exact.


Very few servo's can run unregulated lipo and live to talk another day...Hitec's are one of them.
thats true i have a couple maxamps packs that will peak out around 8.6 though!
smokinu is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2009, 07:09 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
 
Zerodefect's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Columbus, OH
Posts: 4,354
Default

Originally Posted by RJNicholson View Post
Digital Servos will always have a hum to them. Its just they way the Motor and Amp work/sound in digital.

Nothing wrong with the servo it's normal, but the twitching could be the first gear going bad, or the Motor and Amp stressing under High Voltage.


I should have been more specific, it was humming,twitching, and generally spazing out. Din't like that at all! Did ok on nihm.

I noticed that standard Futaba 3003 servos acted crazy as well on Lipo.

That airtronics servo has had a rough life and I swear its too fast twitchy. Not smooth. somethings different and I'm not sure what. I have an old ht servo from airtronics thats completely toast. So if i'm sending one I minus well send the other so they can bench test it.
Zerodefect is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service