Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Is there any disadvantage to mounting my transponder inside my receiver box? >

Is there any disadvantage to mounting my transponder inside my receiver box?

Is there any disadvantage to mounting my transponder inside my receiver box?

Old 09-02-2009, 09:32 PM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default Is there any disadvantage to mounting my transponder inside my receiver box?

Hey guys, I'm going for a very clean look on my car. I don't want any red from the transponder showing up cause I'm going for an all black theme on my RC8. Is there any disadvantage or harm in mounting my transponder inside my reciever box instead of on the radio tray?

I have plenty of room in there with my Spectrum receiver because I moved my receiver battery forward. The only disadvantage i can possibly think of is that I won't be able to see my transponder number, but I can write that down. Are there any interference issues or any other problems?
Ryno RC is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 09:49 PM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

shouldn't be....try it out and if you get a weak signal from the RD....move it back out side the box and see if you get a Good signal again.
Integra is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 09:53 PM
  #3  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (84)
 
Davidka's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Posts: 10,733
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

Yes. If you don't put the transponder number on the outside of the car somewhere it's a pain to open the radio box to get the number off the PT.
Davidka is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 10:03 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (24)
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Birmingham Alabama
Posts: 4,835
Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)
Default

Adam Drake does it and I picked that up and started doing it...looks clean and works great!
ABURTON is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 10:43 PM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (33)
 
Jason Pelletier's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: New York
Posts: 8,833
Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)
Default

I run mine in the reciever box. Only thing was i wasn't counting laps because i didn't have enough voltage so i needed a shortened (f.f.m.) Y harness.

I placed the capacitor under my radio tray. Practicly invisable.
Jason Pelletier is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 01:03 AM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (52)
 
thenova70ss's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Arkansas
Posts: 1,555
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

I keep my TP number in my Cell Phone that way when i get ready to check in at the races all i haft to do is open my cell phone and given them my number .
thenova70ss is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 02:08 AM
  #7  
Tech Regular
 
triplesix's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: 48.137499,11.575494
Posts: 445
Default

Originally Posted by thenova70ss View Post
I keep my TP number in my Cell Phone that way when i get ready to check in at the races all i haft to do is open my cell phone and given them my number .
+1

in most cases we subscribe to a race using online forms. i normally don't have my car right beside of me, when i'm online.
triplesix is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 02:40 AM
  #8  
JQ
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 1,644
Default

Sometimes the transponder causes interference. I dont know about 2.4 though. I use crystals.
JQ is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 02:51 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
 
keavze's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Posts: 590
Default

my PT is also placed inside the rx box; protect against the harsh elements outside...

so far no problem with signal pickup during races.
keavze is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 04:40 AM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (4)
 
flippz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 594
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

i run my pt in the reciever box,i have the battery box from the rc8 and it works great. stays decently clean and plenty of room in there. no issues so far!
flippz is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 05:08 AM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (35)
 
vladconnery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 992
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by thenova70ss View Post
I keep my TP number in my Cell Phone that way when i get ready to check in at the races all i haft to do is open my cell phone and given them my number .
+2
vladconnery is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 05:43 AM
  #12  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Default

Originally Posted by vladconnery View Post
+2
+3

I only have one right now, so I do the same thing for my buggy and truggy.
NitroAmmo is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 07:27 AM
  #13  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

7 digit # you guys cant memorise.....commmmmon.
Integra is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 07:47 AM
  #14  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 70
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Thanks everyone for your help. I'll keep the transponder tucked away in the receiver box then! Great idea on keeping the TP number in the cell phone. I'll be doing that as well. Since I got a cell phone years back, the only seven digit number I have memorized now is pretty much my own. lol
Ryno RC is offline  
Old 09-03-2009, 08:41 AM
  #15  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 366
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I put my TP in my receiver box and write the TP number underneath the body
with a permanent magic marker.
topcat-lll is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.