Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Smoke coming out of engine? >

Smoke coming out of engine?

Smoke coming out of engine?

Old 09-02-2009, 06:30 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default Smoke coming out of engine?

Anybody know why this would happen? I preheated my engine to 215 and smoke started coming out of the glow plug. Especially when i took it out. Let me know
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:36 PM
  #2  
R/C Tech Elite Member
iTrader: (206)
 
Trevor Williams's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Illinois
Posts: 8,374
Trader Rating: 206 (100%+)
Default

Trevor Williams is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:43 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
RCmayor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 2,745
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jhipps835 View Post
Anybody know why this would happen? I preheated my engine to 215 and smoke started coming out of the glow plug. Especially when i took it out. Let me know
If the heat gun was directed right at the glow plug it could have melted the insulator. It also may have cooked some oil, after run maybe, that might have accumulated around the glow plug hole.
RCmayor is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:48 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

So what should i do?
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:50 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

The engine isnt ruined is it?
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:50 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

Also there was i could see oil towards the bottom of the cylinder head.
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:50 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (13)
 
smb17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 592
Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default

Do you put after run oil in? After run oil makes a nice plume of smelly smoke.
smb17 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:54 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
fast11970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Freeport Texas
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Take the plug out, see if it works, put a drop of oil or a drop of fuel in it and if it looks ok, fire it up...I do not heat them on the head, I heat it up uniformly, on the block, left, right,and rear...heat rises.
fast11970 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:57 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

Ok i took it off but no smoke came out. It must have all came out with it in. But the piston is now stuck at top dead center and the engine was still at 190. Is that cool enough to make it stuck?
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 06:57 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

oh and no i didnt use after run oil
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:21 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

Would the insulator being melted affect the way the engine runs? Because when i started it, it wouldnt stay running . So i a am guessing it does but a confirmation would be nice.
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:35 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
xlgraphicspro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 2,061
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

did you have the glow plug all the way tight? if not exhaust will come out from around the glow plug. that insulator is made to withstand high temps, so I doubt that's what was smoking.

everytime your done running the engine, you have to rotate the flywheel down to where it feels free opposite of Top Dead Center. if it's stuck at top use a flat blade screw driver to rotate the flywheel free, and rotate it down. you have to do that before it cools down if you don't want to cause damage.
xlgraphicspro is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:36 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

Yea for some reason the glow plug came loose. And yea just to be sure i took the entire exhaust off so i could see the piston at bdc and thats where it is at now. Would the smoke cause the engine to act funny? Because when i started it the engine wouldnt stay running but yesterday it would
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 07:50 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (58)
 
Stubbs's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Raleigh, NC
Posts: 2,184
Trader Rating: 58 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by xlgraphicspro View Post
did you have the glow plug all the way tight? if not exhaust will come out from around the glow plug. that insulator is made to withstand high temps, so I doubt that's what was smoking.

everytime your done running the engine, you have to rotate the flywheel down to where it feels free opposite of Top Dead Center. if it's stuck at top use a flat blade screw driver to rotate the flywheel free, and rotate it down. you have to do that before it cools down if you don't want to cause damage.
When you've got your piston at BDC, grab a paint pen or some fingernail polish and put a mark on your flywheel that you can reference again. Put it whatever position you want, 12 o'clock, 6 o'clock, 9, etc... Just make it easy to remember. That way, you can very quickly spin your motor down to BDC.

About the glow plug, the copper washer has a "dish" to it. You should always install it with the dish facing down (picture an upside down bowl). If it's on upside down, the plug may not seal, and you can get leakage...or course, this is assuming that you're not using a Turbo plug. If you are, ignore what I just said...
Stubbs is offline  
Old 09-02-2009, 11:03 PM
  #15  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

It is very likely that your plug has fouled during the break in process..Put a new plug in it and it should run just fine
Jaz240 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.