Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
problem with ninja. help please. >

problem with ninja. help please.

problem with ninja. help please.

Old 08-22-2009, 03:31 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default problem with ninja. help please.

breaking in a new ninja (trying too). well when i prime it (blow through the exhaust hose) when it;s cold the fuel go straight to the carb with no bubbles whatsoever. Well when i heat it up there is no fuel getting to the carb. Like half air and half fuel. But it only does this when its warmed up. I have changed fuel tanks, pipe, fuel filter and lines, plug, reset the carb, retighted the cooling head and when it gets warm it still is sucking air..


someone please. What am i missing???? i don't want to keep bashing my new engine on the starter box.
dreaux is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 03:34 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,696
Default

If it's when you warming up the engine with a heat gun the carb is getting to hot and boiling the fuel. Mine did it too. Every time I would try and prime it you could hear a hissing sound from the carb.
Alan D. is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 03:34 PM
  #3  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

on another note. this carb is not like the one on my vspec. I push as hard as i can and i can still turn it. I tighten the screw as far as i can and stay in the safe zone. I really don't like this carburator. Is there a secret to it?
dreaux is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 03:35 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Alan D. View Post
If it's when you warming up the engine with a heat gun the carb is getting to hot and boiling the fuel. Mine did it too. Every time I would try and prime it you could hear a hissing sound from the carb.
ok so what do i do? Start it cold?


and that is exactly what it is doing. Hissing from the carb. How did you slove that problem?
dreaux is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 03:37 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,696
Default

Don't start it cold. try and point the heat gun away from the carb.
I just priming it until the fuel cooled the carb then it started up.

No problem with the carb. Actually most carbs don't "snap" into place.
Alan D. is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 04:36 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

got it. thanx alan. I regret though that i ran about half a tank cold.
dreaux is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 04:50 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
I regret though that i ran about half a tank cold.
Your killing me dreaux!
Chris__RC is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 05:16 PM
  #8  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Can you say Kaboom!
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 05:27 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

yeah that was pretty stupid. but it doesn't say anywhere in the manual to heat it up first. I would get it up to 200 and couldn't find out why it would not start. So another lesson learned. Ran 1 tank at 200 then my starter box craped out

12 hours to charge. Man i had all this planned out. Just to be screwed by vaporized fuel.
dreaux is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 05:58 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

so how bad did i hurt my engine?
dreaux is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 06:29 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (56)
 
jpz_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas.
Posts: 1,843
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

Dreaux I wouldnt be worried about hurting the motor by idling half a tank cold. It is not good but not fatal. I have never heard of anyone heating up a motor enough that the fuel boils though!
I just take the plug out of my motor, put the heat gun on the head and bring up the temps, constantly checking until I get up to 200-210. At this point I put the glow plug in and fire it up. You are going to get 20 different methods on motor break in. Everyone seems to have there own way that works. I use foil on the head to hold heat and still be able to run the motor rich, I just slowly keep leaning the motor out the more tanks I put through it. I dont have any issues getting good life from my motors. Goodluck.
jpz_67 is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 06:44 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

thanx jpz. I was heating the block and it was still only 200 but the way i was pointing it was pretty close to the carb. That is a good idea about taking the plug out and doing it from the top. when i finally got it right my box went dead. Well tomorrow is another day.
dreaux is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 06:59 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

what about bumping it over and over on the starter?? I was heated up most of the time when i kept trying to start it. And if someone asked me this question i know i would tell them it wasn't good. but is that really that bad?

should i replace the con rod after break in?

Just trying to make myself feel better. Have been waiting on this for a couple months.
dreaux is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 07:04 PM
  #14  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

The more you warm up the engine before you start it and the more heat you keep in it during break in, the less likely you will need to replace the connecting rod after break in..You really should be following the break in Bible stickied on the top of this page.
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 08-22-2009, 07:06 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (126)
 
gkn0315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay City MI
Posts: 1,690
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Default

finish break in and when your ready to put a race tune on it tear it down and inspect the internals if you want you can replace the rod then hope this helps good luck keep us informed on how this mill runs thanks
gkn0315 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.