Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Need some advise >

Need some advise

Need some advise

Old 08-13-2009, 09:27 AM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default Need some advise

I'm looking to finally dive into some club racing next year and need advise on if I should keep running my current rig, cen matrix buggy with nova .21 3 port, or upgrade to a new D8. The D8 falls into my budget if I were to get a new buggy, any other buggy would have to be purchased used which isn't a problem. My servos are good, I spent money there, the only other idea would be to buy a new radio since I'm currently using a Airtronics MX3 FM. The radio works fine I have never had to worry about interference because everyone at the track is pretty much using 2.4. Just need a little advise. I've been running the matrix for about 2 years and got it dialed in pretty good for the local track and have gotten to were I run pretty consistent, just need to start picking up more speed. Just looking for your thoughts, thanks
Old 08-13-2009, 09:44 AM
Tech Addict

If i was you i would run the buggy you have now until you spend more time fixing it the you do racing. The D8 is a good buggy for sure i mean if you have money burning a hole in your pocket i would get it. as far as you motor the n21bf is a great little motor for racing. I would look at picking up a new radio prob something like the spektrum or something along those lines.
Old 08-13-2009, 12:02 PM
Tech Apprentice

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Its not that I have money burning a hole in my pocket, I'm just looking to next year and am willing to spend around $300 if I need to. I'm not looking to go dominate, I just feel like I'm ready to jump in and want to be some what competitive.
Old 08-13-2009, 12:20 PM
Tech Addict

If thats the case then i would get the D8 for sure.
Old 08-13-2009, 02:16 PM
Tech Adept