Community
Wiki Posts
Search

How hard IS it to build an MBX6?

Search this Thread

Old 08-02-2009, 05:10 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 33 (97%+)
Default How hard IS it to build an MBX6?

If I've never built a nitro 1/8 scale before?

I am not an idiot and would take it slow and go bag by bag. I should be fine
eh?
Old 08-02-2009, 05:15 PM
Tech Lord

Trader Rating: 24 (100%+)

Mugen cars usually go together without much trouble. You might run into a small snag or two due to the lack of good text but people on here will answer any questions you might have.

Just make sure you have some good metric allen drivers. You could build it with the included L wrenches but I would not advise it.
Old 08-02-2009, 05:19 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 38 (100%+)

You'll do fine if you go slow and pay attention.
Old 08-02-2009, 05:40 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 34 (100%+)

locktite, ca and propper shimming, just like all kits.
Old 08-02-2009, 05:48 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)

1. sand the diff cups and inside the gearbox

2. before you put the pillow balls in the upper and lower arms (in the front), pre thread the arms, ie take a same size screw or the balls themselves and turn them with a pair of pliers. do this and you wont strip the ball head.

3. grease the outdrives (the metal things that go into the diff cups), do not overfill the spider gears. fill just above the crosspins.

4. they are NOT self locking wheel nuts. You must tighten them.

5. when shimming the diff (you will know because they will show you a pic of a shim on the outdrive going into the case). leave just a tick of play between the bevel and conical. the pic shows shimming for tighter gear mesh. Well both of mine had to be shimmed for less.

6. make sure the bevel gear (the one that connects to the center drive shafts) is very very snug with the universal cups.