R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   One last first fire up question. (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/314763-one-last-first-fire-up-question.html)

Devilbrad 07-25-2009 05:29 PM

One last first fire up question.

I have never fired up a nitro engine, let alone a brand new one. What is the best way to prime the fuel system? Thanks.

LordAnubis 07-25-2009 06:41 PM

I'm new to this stuff too (got my first nitro rc a month ago). There are 2 ways of priming the engine that I know of.

1) remove the backpressure line (the fuel line that is connected to the exhaust) and blow into it gently, till you see fuel going into the carb. A few things to keep note with this method... remove the hose only from the exhaust end... so basically you are blowing air into the fuel tank (via the hose). Also try and make sure you don't blow any spit into the line.

2) Simply put your finger over the exhaust, and pull the start cord a few times (as if you were starting the engine). This method works for me with my pull start, but not sure how well it'd work with other starters (roto, box)... i'm sure it'll still work well. Note with this method the exhaust may be hot (especially once you start it up and it's been running for a while) so be careful.

I use the second method.