Novarossi P5

Old 07-19-2009, 01:12 AM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
racer-007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hawks Bay, New Zealand
Posts: 54
Default Novarossi P5

i was just wondering if anyone knows the factory settings for the 3 needle carb for this motor.
racer-007 is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 02:36 AM
  #2  
Tech Regular
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 476
Default

http://www.novarossi.it/files/manual...21-REVERSE.pdf

Now that was hard............
casevac is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 06:25 AM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (35)
 
vladconnery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 992
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racer-007 View Post
i was just wondering if anyone knows the factory settings for the 3 needle carb for this motor.
PM Houston no one probally knows more about NOVA's than him.
vladconnery is offline  
Old 07-19-2009, 08:57 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (42)
 
helivaguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: NYC
Posts: 1,220
Trader Rating: 42 (100%+)
Default

try this..
its how i set all my .21 nova and rb engines.
HSN=3/4-1 turn in from flush.
MID speed (brass) =flush.
LSN=2 turns out( counting turns out with slide barrel closed ) or 4 turns out with slide barrel open.

plugs i use with byrons gen2 20% fuel= odonell 100,novarossi 6,mccoy mc8,rb 6.
helivaguy is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 01:24 AM
  #5  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
racer-007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hawks Bay, New Zealand
Posts: 54
Default

Originally Posted by helivaguy View Post
try this..
its how i set all my .21 nova and rb engines.
HSN=3/4-1 turn in from flush.
MID speed (brass) =flush.
LSN=2 turns out( counting turns out with slide barrel closed ) or 4 turns out with slide barrel open.

plugs i use with byrons gen2 20% fuel= odonell 100,novarossi 6,mccoy mc8,rb 6.
LSN 2turns out from flush sorry im a newbie as it it goes in a long way???
racer-007 is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 03:11 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 366
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have a P-5 and it does not have a midrange needle the third screw sets the
idle. I don't have my engine manual with me now, but check the Houston
engine service thread.
topcat-lll is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 03:34 AM
  #7  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
racer-007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hawks Bay, New Zealand
Posts: 54
Default

Originally Posted by topcat-lll View Post
I have a P-5 and it does not have a midrange needle the third screw sets the
idle. I don't have my engine manual with me now, but check the Houston
engine service thread.
this carb as a mid needle. im not talking about the idle screw.

cheers
racer-007 is offline  
Old 07-20-2009, 03:56 AM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 366
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

My engine is a Novarossi 21-P5xs it's about 1-1/2 years old. I have three
other Novarossi engines and none of them have a midrange needle. You could
have the old P-5 and maybe it had a midrange needle, but I thought all nova's
had only two mixture needles, but I could be wrong. How old is your P-5 and did you buy it new?
topcat-lll is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 12:25 AM
  #9  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
racer-007's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Hawks Bay, New Zealand
Posts: 54
Default

Originally Posted by topcat-lll View Post
My engine is a Novarossi 21-P5xs it's about 1-1/2 years old. I have three
other Novarossi engines and none of them have a midrange needle. You could
have the old P-5 and maybe it had a midrange needle, but I thought all nova's
had only two mixture needles, but I could be wrong. How old is your P-5 and did you buy it new?
hi topcat

no i didnt buy them new and they must me old as i have u of them and they both got the midrange needle. but im rebuilding them up as the both have done a rod.

thats why im asking for the factory carb spekz

cheers
racer-007 is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 12:54 AM
  #10  
Tech Prophet
iTrader: (96)
 
houston's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Sherwood,OR
Posts: 15,837
Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by racer-007 View Post
hi topcat

no i didnt buy them new and they must me old as i have u of them and they both got the midrange needle. but im rebuilding them up as the both have done a rod.

thats why im asking for the factory carb spekz

cheers
usually around flush on hsn , lsn 4-4.5 turns out on lsn (slide barrel opened) about .7-1mm idle gap . if u havent touched the middle adjust leave it

if you have , put it flush with the carb body
houston is offline  
Old 07-21-2009, 06:17 AM
  #11  
Tech Regular
 
elkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 359
Default send it to Houston

Have him Houston Race Tune it!
You should check out his website
http://www.houstonsengineservice.com/
elkman is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.