Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Help with running my Truck! >

Help with running my Truck!

Help with running my Truck!

Old 07-17-2009, 02:18 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Iceland
Posts: 206
Default Help with running my Truck!

Hi peeps.

The problem is, that when I give it some throttle, the engine revs very good, sounds amazing, but the car doesn't move at all.

Can you give me some possibilities on why the car doesn't move although it is given some throttle and revs up? Do I maybe need to switch it into gear with my Radio Controller or something?

P.s. I put it together myself, everything related to clutch and gears + the engine (I fear I might have turned the clutch shoes the wrong way)
helgso is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:20 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
 
wallot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 876
Default

check your clutch and then you will see. take body off leave it on stand and watch the drivetrain
wallot is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:21 PM
  #3  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Iceland
Posts: 206
Default

Originally Posted by wallot View Post
check your clutch and then you will see. take body off leave it on stand and watch the drivetrain
What exactly is the drivetrain?
helgso is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:22 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
 
elkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 359
Default WOW

Somebody is in WWWAAAYYYY over their head!
elkman is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:27 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Check your slipper clutch. The nut may have come loose. Another possibility is that you may have striped your spur gear if you didn't set the gear mesh right.
pyromania is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:30 PM
  #6  
Tech Master
iTrader: (126)
 
gkn0315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay City MI
Posts: 1,690
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Default

what truck or car is it? is it nitro or electric?
gkn0315 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:31 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (126)
 
gkn0315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay City MI
Posts: 1,690
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Default

sorry you said clutch must be a nitro let start with what vehicle it is.
gkn0315 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:31 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
 
elkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 359
Default Let's start over.

What kind of truck is it?
That would tell us if it has an actual centrifugal clutch (which it sounds like it if you put shoes on it), or does it have a slipper type clutch.
elkman is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:32 PM
  #9  
Tech Fanatic
 
wallot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 876
Default

clutch shoes will work even if put the other way.
wallot is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:33 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
 
elkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 359
Default yes

Originally Posted by wallot View Post
clutch shoes will work even if put the other way.
Some people run them that way on purpose. not me
elkman is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:34 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
iTrader: (126)
 
gkn0315's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Bay City MI
Posts: 1,690
Trader Rating: 126 (100%+)
Default

+1 for the above post
gkn0315 is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:36 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

If I remember correctly he has an LST2
pyromania is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:41 PM
  #13  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Iceland
Posts: 206
Default

I told you in my first post EDIT: No, soz I didn't

I have an Team Losi LST1. I checked my gear mesh and it was ok, there was still grip on the pinions. When I turn the pinions with my finger, they turn good.
helgso is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:44 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
 
elkman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Gresham Oregon
Posts: 359
Default HI-LO

Doesn't that truck have a HI - LO selector to choose the speed range? If so, maybe the dial selector is between the HI and LO and possibly not making engagement with the gears. I am just working from memory. I dont have one. Thought I could try to help
elkman is offline  
Old 07-17-2009, 02:49 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

If the truck is NOT moving at all, it may have to do something with the 2 speed gears, slipper clutch or he didn't set up his clutch right.
pyromania is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.