Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Jp-3 in a vspec? >

Jp-3 in a vspec?

Jp-3 in a vspec?

Old 07-15-2009, 05:12 PM
  #1  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 110
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Jp-3 in a vspec?

I had a new 2060 but sold it. Would a jp-3 be a good pipe for the vspec? I like the pipe because it is durable and i am still a beginner.
roots is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 05:13 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
 
wallot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Czech Republic
Posts: 876
Default

sure JP-3 will work ok.
wallot is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 05:13 PM
  #3  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

I have seen JP3's work very good on vspecs.
Frank L is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 05:14 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

JP-3 is one of the best pipes for the V-Spec
pyromania is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 05:16 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (56)
 
jpz_67's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Texas.
Posts: 1,843
Trader Rating: 56 (100%+)
Default

It will have retarded bottom end and the top will suffer some. Would work good on a short track.
jpz_67 is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 05:30 PM
  #6  
Tech Adept
Thread Starter
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 110
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

thanks for the help. How bad on the top? Will it be a slug on a straight? The motor hasn't been broken in yet. Will be a back up for my cobra x1 or if i get a new buggy it will go in it.
roots is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 05:38 PM
  #7  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

definitely not a slug
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 06:36 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
coviello's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: goshen ny
Posts: 361
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

i ran a jp3 in a v-spec last week. barely made the triple
coviello is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 06:41 PM
  #9  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
draggin87's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Englewood, FL
Posts: 610
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

jp3 and vspec works great for me. Our straight is pretty long and it pulls the whole way!. The jp1 dosent let it rev at all
draggin87 is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 10:03 PM
  #10  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (32)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Hayward CA
Posts: 702
Trader Rating: 32 (100%+)
Default

compairing jp3 to RE10. RE10 beats it hands down
devilchrist is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 10:24 PM
  #11  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: So Cal
Posts: 1,696
Default

RE10 is so much better than the JP-3 it's indescribable.
Alan D. is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 10:39 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (79)
 
yoshgixxer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: York, PA
Posts: 1,511
Trader Rating: 79 (99%+)
Default

Good pipe..but now were near as good fuel mileage as a RE-10 or 2060
yoshgixxer is offline  
Old 07-15-2009, 11:15 PM
  #13  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
freestylinmotox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 364
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

jp3 is awesome for v-specs. Especially for short-medium size tracks! it Hauls a$$!!! I picked mine up for 25 bucks almost new so I cant complain. Depending on how much you want to spend though, I would go with the RE-10.
freestylinmotox is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 05:41 AM
  #14  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DOMIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe
Posts: 4,034
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I wouldn't use the RE10, I'd use the RE11 (2050 clone)

HOWEVER, the Dynamite 053 makes just a hair more power than the RE11/2050 or JP-4 throughout the RPM range (I've seen dyno test sheets to prove it.) It is also slightly cheaper.

The main pipe itself is very durable, the stinger is nicely reinforced... but the header is a little soft.

The Losi RE11 is almost as inexpensive and it may be just a hair more durable... the power difference is pretty minimal. Our "crew" runs all 3 on the VSPEC and they all work well. Any of those 3 will give you enough grunt for even a truggy, and still not be really limited on the top end.

Not sure about a JP-3, I haven't had one on a VSPEC.
DOMIT is offline  
Old 07-16-2009, 06:09 AM
  #15  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 4,026
Default

Dynamite 053 pipie or RE10 or 2060 is a better choice for a vspec
token is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.