Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Do you use a switch or connector >

Do you use a switch or connector

Do you use a switch or connector

Old 06-28-2009, 11:56 AM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,078
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default Do you use a switch or connector

Do you use an On/OFF switch for receiver/battery connection?
If switch...which is the best and how often do you change it?
If connector which one do you use?

Which setup has cost you the "most runaways"?
vti-chris is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 12:00 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
 
MrUnlimited's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 2,491
Default

I do use a switch between the battery and the receiver. Most of the receivers and batteries are boxed in a buggy. The are special dust covers available for switches if that is the problem.
MrUnlimited is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 12:04 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (67)
 
cary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,914
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

I just got rid of the switch I used a small servo lead form the rx
and use the plugs that where on them just one less thing to go
wrong I'm liking it so far
cary is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 12:11 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (3)
 
vti-chris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Cyprus
Posts: 1,078
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

That's what i use as well(the plugs from the battery and Y harness) but wanted to know if it will eventually fail since the usage is too much, plug...unplug..., plug...unplug..., plug...unplug..., plug...unplug..., plug...unplug...
vti-chris is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 12:16 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Oceanside CA
Posts: 1,075
Default

I use a switch,Futaba long knob & change it every 6 months or so. No problems in the 2 yrs I been using that switch but I had other other switch brands before the Futaba that were involved when I had electrical problems but I always carried spares for those too though it was seldom the switches problem causing them.

Switches can cause problems but so can worn connectors,those spot welded battery bars on reciever packs,recievers bouncing around,servos thet hit the chassis when you land wrong & wires that chafe on when pulled tight around something & next to a nitro motor vibrating at 40,000 rpm. My last elec problem was reciever batt wires chafing between the reciever batt & reciever box wall till there was only 3 strands left in each wire. Ive had more servo & wire problems than switch problems.

BTW the batt wire problem was in the same car you run,you might want to check how your wires leave the pack & blow dirt out of the box often since I know you dont take the batt door off except under penalty of deth.
butch man is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 12:20 PM
  #6  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by cary View Post
I just got rid of the switch I used a small servo lead form the rx
and use the plugs that where on them just one less thing to go
wrong I'm liking it so far
+1 on the switchless. I use a mini deans plug. It will never fail and there is no question as to weather its on or off. I have seen many racers struggle with faulty switches, but never a faulty connector. Go switchless its the way to go.
Frank L is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 12:37 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: All Over So. Fla.
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
+1 on the switchless. I use a mini deans plug. It will never fail and there is no question as to weather its on or off. I have seen many racers struggle with faulty switches, but never a faulty connector. Go switchless its the way to go.
1+ So very true.One good runaway and you'll understand.

Last edited by The Working Man; 06-28-2009 at 12:55 PM.
The Working Man is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 12:39 PM
  #8  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
+1 on the switchless. I use a mini deans plug. It will never fail and there is no question as to weather its on or off. I have seen many racers struggle with faulty switches, but never a faulty connector. Go switchless its the way to go.
+2, I have had 2-3 various problems with switches, so now its Mini-deans direct plug in for me also
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 06-28-2009, 12:48 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

I have a JR switch with charging connector that I bought a month ago. Before I had a JR switch that came with my XXX-NT RTR that had oil and fuel all over it so I didn't expect to last long. But switch's are so much easier. I have my charging connector where I do't even have to take off the body to recharge my receiver battery in between races. I have used regular Deans before, but they were harder to get on and off than the standard black ones I use now and they definitly weren't needed.
Chris__RC is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 06:38 AM
  #10  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Sydney Australia
Posts: 57
Default

I have a KO-Propo electronic switch I used to run it on my 1/5th onroad car and have been thinking about putting it onto my Truggy. Which I think I will do because i am sick of the rubber protectors tearing on the switches.

I can not find anywhere to buy another KO switch they are so good you press a tiny little sealed button to turn it on or off. Only draw back is most don't know how it works as you need to hold the button down for about 300mSec to change the state from on to off and vise versa. Also draws current in off mode but is minimal 5mAh. Again it is the best switch I have used.
hassro is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 07:21 AM
  #11  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 4,026
Default

the tracks here, you must have a switch - never had a problem with one
token is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 07:32 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Ontario, Canada
Posts: 1,210
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
+1 on the switchless. I use a mini deans plug. It will never fail and there is no question as to weather its on or off. I have seen many racers struggle with faulty switches, but never a faulty connector. Go switchless its the way to go.
I am using Mini Deans as well, it's great. I have it coming out of the radio box so I can plug it in and unplug it without opening the box.
Semple is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 08:58 AM
  #13  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by token View Post
the tracks here, you must have a switch - never had a problem with one

Explain what that means..by the "tracks here" whats different about your tracks that a switch is "required"
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 09:34 AM
  #14  
Tech Rookie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 9
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
Explain what that means..by the "tracks here" whats different about your tracks that a switch is "required"
He means that a switch must be on your car to be allowed to race.
PILL is offline  
Old 06-29-2009, 09:37 AM
  #15  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Why would a switch be required to race? It does not prevent a run away the car still runs. I don't see what purpose requiring a switch does.
Frank L is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.