Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Personal transponders, waterproof? >

Personal transponders, waterproof?

Personal transponders, waterproof?

Old 06-26-2009, 07:54 PM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (37)
 
RGraves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mayfield, Kentucky
Posts: 370
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default Personal transponders, waterproof?

are they waterproof?
RGraves is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 08:00 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (67)
 
cary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,914
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

I do not now all I can say is over the winter my buggy
took a swim not one time but two times in two weeks
on fun fishing a round in knee deep cold water lost a
servo and that was it transponder is ok
cary is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 08:14 PM
  #3  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RGraves View Post
are they waterproof?
you mean for like submarine races?
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 08:16 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (37)
 
RGraves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mayfield, Kentucky
Posts: 370
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
you mean for like submarine races?
well where i have mine mounted on my slash and I go to wash it off, I dont worry about it on my buggys
RGraves is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 08:22 PM
  #5  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Isn't it attached to your radio tray which you should be removing for cleaning anyway? I thought most people just blew off electric vehicles with an air compressor because you cant really get em wet, unless its those new traxxas that are totally waterproof
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 08:37 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (37)
 
RGraves's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Mayfield, Kentucky
Posts: 370
Trader Rating: 37 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
Isn't it attached to your radio tray which you should be removing for cleaning anyway? I thought most people just blew off electric vehicles with an air compressor because you cant really get em wet, unless its those new traxxas that are totally waterproof
the slash is totally waterproof
RGraves is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 08:40 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (63)
 
sugelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: O'Fallon, MO
Posts: 1,160
Trader Rating: 63 (100%+)
Default

No...they are not waterproof!
sugelle is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 09:04 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
RCmayor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 2,745
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

I would say they are pretty much water resistant. If you need a transponder I would hope you aren't racing in a mud pit.
RCmayor is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 09:32 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
fast11970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Freeport Texas
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

I have found them to be well sealed...

fast11970 is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 09:34 PM
  #10  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
fast11970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Freeport Texas
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Still have the same transponder, that pic is from 2007..
fast11970 is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 09:53 PM
  #11  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (25)
 
losi_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by fast11970 View Post
I have found them to be well sealed...

where is the transponder LOL
losi_racer is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 10:03 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
fast11970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Freeport Texas
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by losi_racer View Post
where is the transponder LOL

Now its in My slash...LOL Still Setting TQ Pace...Ohhhh LOL!!!




Wanna Piece of me? And My just for men!! LOL!!

I am Just Jokin...Please do not get all bent at me...

Monkey.

Last edited by fast11970; 06-26-2009 at 10:06 PM. Reason: Stupid Monkey.
fast11970 is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 10:19 PM
  #13  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Just dont let the magic smoke out because once the magic smoke escapes it wont work anymore.
Frank L is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 10:29 PM
  #14  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (10)
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Frank L View Post
Just dont let the magic smoke out because once the magic smoke escapes it wont work anymore.
There was a thread about that a while ago on the Rccrawler forum. Someone actually beleived that you could replace the smoke.
That guy got taken for a ride by some forum members.
Cory Kerber is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 10:35 PM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (1)
 
fast11970's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Freeport Texas
Posts: 1,007
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

You cannot see from the pic. But I had the magic smoke in a ziplock bag, I mixed it with some old air filter oil, and Walla...


Last edited by fast11970; 06-26-2009 at 10:53 PM. Reason: Monkey does not type so well
fast11970 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.