Starting Help

Old 06-26-2009, 11:43 AM
  #1  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default Starting Help

I can get my Novarossi to start first try, but when i go to give it throttle it just stalls. The engine runs at a high idle, then shuts off when i give it throttle. It won't start up again until i drain the fuel from the motor. So that means it's rich. But what should i go about doing to fix this? I know the basic tuning, but this is new to me. Adjusting the idle gap doesn't help. My fuel is a few months old, Could this be the problem?

Any help is appreciated.
Cory Kerber is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 11:47 AM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Are you heating up the engine?
pyromania is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 11:47 AM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

No
Cory Kerber is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 11:50 AM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Wait, lets start over. Are you breaking in your engine?
pyromania is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 11:54 AM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

No it's already been broken in. It hasn't been ran for a while.
Cory Kerber is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 11:56 AM
  #6  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (25)
 
losi_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

sounds like a glow plug to me
losi_racer is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 12:06 PM
  #7  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

I've replaced the plug. The pipe drains tons of fuel. Sometimes when i get it idling, it will just cut off. But then other times when i ease into the throttle it will cut off.
Cory Kerber is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 12:23 PM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Could bad/old nitro be the problem?
Cory Kerber is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 12:25 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cory Kerber View Post
I've replaced the plug. The pipe drains tons of fuel. Sometimes when i get it idling, it will just cut off. But then other times when i ease into the throttle it will cut off.
You say it is rich, why don't you lean the LSN?
Chris__RC is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 12:47 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (2)
 
sickmojave's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Mascotte, FL
Posts: 147
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cory Kerber View Post
Could bad/old nitro be the problem?
Yes
sickmojave is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 01:00 PM
  #11  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

The nitro i've got is probably 6 months old Byrons Gen 2. It sat in my shop over the winter. I guess i'm an idiot now

Also i think i've overtuned, because now i can't even get my engine to fire. I've got to find the stock needle settings and go from there.
Cory Kerber is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 01:02 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Cory Kerber View Post
The nitro i've got is probably 6 months old Byrons Gen 2. It sat in my shop over the winter. I guess i'm an idiot now

Also i think i've overtuned, because now i can't even get my engine to fire. I've got to find the stock needle settings and go from there.
That fuel is still good. What nitro and oil percentage? Nitro can last a year or 2 sitting in a cool environment.

Heat the engine up to 200 degrees with a heat gun or hair dryer and it should start easily.
Chris__RC is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 01:05 PM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

It's 30% Gen 2 You don't think the alernating temps in my shop could have harmed it? It was anywhere from 30-100 degress in there. It doesn't have the "carbenation" that it use too.

I've got to figure out factory settings, before i try starting it again.
Cory Kerber is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 01:07 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 4,031
Default

Dude - go back to fqactory settings and start from there- it sounds like your are really fat on top and bottom. its idling high because its not enough fuel being burnt off and its shutting off because the top is dumping to much fuel in while the carb is open. "make sense"


Go back to factory (including the idle needle)

When you tune make sure you are only going in 1 hour increments

high idle should not be a glow plug issue - its all in the tune

When you lean the low end needle it increases the idle and richening lowers the idle and your right its nothing the idle will do.

Hope this helps!


Oh I keep my fuel in my shed over the winter and never had bad nitro it always come back to tuning
token is offline  
Old 06-26-2009, 01:39 PM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
Thread Starter
iTrader: (10)
 
Cory Kerber's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Fresno, CA
Posts: 769
Trader Rating: 10 (100%+)
Default

Token, Your suggestion was just a minute late! I didn't read you post, but I did exactly what you mentioned, and it worked! I'm so stoked right now. It's still running a little fat, but it's fast as hell!! This is my first 1/8 and i'm in love already. Thanks for the suggestions everyone, but the problem is solved! Now to get some practice before the race tomorrow.

BTW I'm running at a rich 205 degrees.
Cory Kerber is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.