Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
No more pull start! Umm...now what? >

No more pull start! Umm...now what?

No more pull start! Umm...now what?

Old 06-25-2009, 05:02 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Frozenshades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: College Station, TX/Southlake, TX
Posts: 514
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default No more pull start! Umm...now what?

So my pull start broke and I'm not going to replace it, as I own a bump box. I'm still learning, so my question is what do I do to my engine now? I know metal back plates can be bought, but I have the back plate from the pull starter, its just empty. I have the one way bearing as well. Would buying a metal back plate be any different than just leaving the empty pull start shell on? My main concern is as follows though: The one way bearing is attached to some of the shaft, so there is now an unfilled hole in the back of my engine. Is it okay to leave that empty, or do I need to leave the one way bearing inside, or would buying a back plate have an extension to fill that? I'm just not sure how to set the engine up to run without a pull start. Thanks.
Frozenshades is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 05:08 PM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

You need to replace the metal back plate with a bump start backplate. Your engine will not start with the hollow shell and the big hole in the backplate. It will suck air and not fire, You will replace the starter shaft, one way bearing current back plate and pull cord housing with a new bump plate..It all comes out, and the new plate covers it all up
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 05:13 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Frozenshades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: College Station, TX/Southlake, TX
Posts: 514
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
You need to replace the metal back plate with a bump start backplate. Your engine will not start with the hollow shell and the big hole in the backplate. It will suck air and not fire, You will replace the starter shaft, one way bearing current back plate and pull cord housing with a new bump plate..It all comes out, and the new plate covers it all up
Thanks Jazz. That makes sense. Otherwise its a massive air leak. Does anyone know where I might find one for a Hyper 21? Not seeing any so far. Or one for another engine that will fit?
Frozenshades is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 05:15 PM
  #4  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Linky Dink:


http://www.nitrohouse.com/catalog/pr...ducts_id=13152
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 05:17 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (4)
 
Frozenshades's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: College Station, TX/Southlake, TX
Posts: 514
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post

You're the man
Ordering that right now
Frozenshades is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 05:30 PM
  #6  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Happy to help..Have fun
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 06:05 PM
  #7  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Quad Racer 34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

i have a roto start on my RC8 but i got a starter box for it. do i need to take the roto start backplate off and replace with new one??
Quad Racer 34 is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 06:14 PM
  #8  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Quad Racer 34 View Post
i have a roto start on my RC8 but i got a starter box for it. do i need to take the roto start backplate off and replace with new one??
as long as the backplate is sealed up good you can use the starter box..if you switch out the backplate to the bumpstart one..you will gain power
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 06:22 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (84)
 
Colors_By_Dave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Naperville, IL 60565
Posts: 2,820
Trader Rating: 84 (100%+)
Default

You also need to get rid of the nub on the crankshaft that the starter plate engages, or the non-pullstart backplate won't fit on the engine. Either grind it off, or replace the crank.

You could just leave the pullstart (or rotostart) parts on there and bumpstart it, but why carry around the parts/weight and spin the starter shaft (takes away a little power).
Colors_By_Dave is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 06:42 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Quad Racer 34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
as long as the backplate is sealed up good you can use the starter box..if you switch out the backplate to the bumpstart one..you will gain power
after a day of practicing the other day there was greas/oil residue around it. do u think i need to replace it?
Quad Racer 34 is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 07:31 PM
  #11  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Quad Racer 34 View Post
after a day of practicing the other day there was greas/oil residue around it. do u think i need to replace it?
If it's leaking you will need to seal it or replace it. Best bet is to go to a bump backplate. It gets rid of a lot of rotating mass on the back of the engine, seals better, and is smaller so it fits better.
JAMMINKRAZY is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 07:35 PM
  #12  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Quad Racer 34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

ok thanks!
Quad Racer 34 is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 07:43 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Quad Racer 34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

woud that backplate leaking affect it starting or running at all?
Quad Racer 34 is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 07:57 PM
  #14  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (49)
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: SL,UT
Posts: 938
Trader Rating: 49 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Quad Racer 34 View Post
woud that backplate leaking affect it starting or running at all?

Yeah,

It will be hard to tune, run lean, idle wierd and blow plugs... depending on severity of the leak.

I always seal mine.
aradaiel is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 08:04 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
Quad Racer 34's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: OHIO
Posts: 2,973
Trader Rating: 4 (83%+)
Default

thanks. what do you seal it with?

would sealing it work good enough for one race? because i have a race sunday and probly cant get one in time unless my lhs has one.
Quad Racer 34 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.