Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Starter box blues >

Starter box blues

Starter box blues

Old 06-24-2009, 07:53 PM
  #1  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 86
Default Starter box blues

Well guys I picked up a ofna starter box I forget the model # but it's the single motor direct drive one with a 12v gel cell. I'm trying to use it with my sc8 that still has the stock pro .28 in it which has about 4 gallons through it now. I cannot get the starter box to fire it up it seems like it spins it over too fast. When I use the prostart that spins it over much slower it always fires right up. Whats the deal i'm stumped and yes everythings lined up it's spinning the right direction I just don't get it.
AsSc8 is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 07:59 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 2,741
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

too fast?

use a weaker battery?
imaxx21 is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:12 PM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 86
Default

Originally Posted by imaxx21 View Post
too fast?

use a weaker battery?
Seriously?

So your saying that cranking it over too fast really could prevent it from firing up? Has anyone else had this issue? It seems like my starter box setup is fairly common why won't it work for me.
AsSc8 is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:14 PM
  #4  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (52)
 
Jaz240's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Dwindle city
Posts: 12,494
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

No such thing! your box is probably spinning your flywheel and not turning your crank..Make sure your flywheel is tight
Jaz240 is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:17 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
 
Gearhead racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: Somewhere in PA
Posts: 2,020
Default

Originally Posted by Jaz240 View Post
No such thing! your box is probably spinning your flywheel and not turning your crank..Make sure your flywheel is tight
+1 I used a starter box on my revo, that thing would crank!!! Never had a problem with not firing
Tyler
Gearhead racer is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:19 PM
  #6  
Super Moderator
iTrader: (61)
 
J.Whiting's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: a very small town in wisconsin that is in the middle of absolutely no where
Posts: 4,782
Trader Rating: 61 (100%+)
Default

is the box spinning the motor the wrong way???? if so you will have a really hard time starting any motor. i have the ofna 10244 dual motor box with 2 5000 30c lipos. this box will start anything.. last week a guy had a new os .28 or .30 never been started no heat and this box turned it over so fast i was in shock. faster the better. jeremy
J.Whiting is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:25 PM
  #7  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (12)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 12 (100%+)
Default

+1 check the wiring and direction the starter wheel is rotating. With that box it's easy to wire something a little off that'll cause the motor to spin the wrong way.
gotspeed_2000 is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 08:57 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 2,741
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by AsSc8 View Post
Seriously?

So your saying that cranking it over too fast really could prevent it from firing up? Has anyone else had this issue? It seems like my starter box setup is fairly common why won't it work for me.

you said it was going too fast, that why i said ''too fast?"
imaxx21 is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 09:12 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Stupid question but, are you sure the box is hitting the flywheel? Take the glow plug out and see if the piston moves up and down.
Chris__RC is offline  
Old 06-24-2009, 10:20 PM
  #10  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
freestylinmotox's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 364
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Yep, make sure the flywheel is tight and make sure you also check the collat.
freestylinmotox is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 07:21 AM
  #11  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Too fast on the starter box that's a new one. I have heard of too slow but never too fast. Try just bumping it in small blurps. Don't leave the starter box engeged for long periods of time just 1-2 seconds and then 3 seconds break. But I have never heard of too fast humm...
Frank L is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 10:37 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 4,026
Default

hahahahahahahahahahahaha - in 20+ years of RC racing on road and off - I have never heard this one before.

Starter box to fast


Wow

engines REV at like 30000 RPMs - its no way its faster than that
token is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 11:42 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DOMIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe
Posts: 4,034
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

There is no starter box out there (ok, now I bet someone will try to build one) that will spin the motor too fast.

As for those of you who said it won't start if it spins the wrong direction... WRONG! The motor will start and run normally... except rotating the opposite way.

Make sure the flywheel is tight as others have said... the "ez start" or whatever you call it engages the crankpin... the starter box spins the flywheel.

And make sure the wheel is lined up with the hole in your chassis.

A starter box should spin it faster... which makes it easier to start, not harder.
DOMIT is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 12:41 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
coviello's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: goshen ny
Posts: 361
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

what???????????????? the motor will not run backwards. if it ran backwards that means the carb would be the exhaust and the exhaust would be the intake spot. no motor will run backwards. i had that same box that my friend wired for me. he did it backwards. (not a surprise). i had a new motor that i couldent start. i mean i was trying to start it for a good 30 minutes. then i took the air filter off to see if it was opening. when i went to go start it. fuel came shooting out of the carb. so there should be 2 banana plugs on that box outside. switch them. thats what happened to me. and the motor fired right up. as for the motor running backwards??? sorry. not gona happen
coviello is offline  
Old 06-25-2009, 12:50 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Aurora, Colorado
Posts: 4,026
Default

Yes the ENGINE will run backwards and will not change the places of the carb and exhaust, Like Brad say - It will just run backwards
- from experience bud, and if you run rich enough the oil from the fuel will come shooting out of the carb, its heavier than air right. hahahahaha

pissin on Losi huh, you must have gotten spanked acouple of time but some of the most popular 1/8s on the market..... dont hate
token is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.