Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Rc car too lean or too rich? >

Rc car too lean or too rich?

Rc car too lean or too rich?

Old 06-10-2009, 03:26 PM
  #1  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 44
Questions?? Rc car too lean or too rich?

I have a new traxxas rustler. I have a slight issue with tuning. so When i start it up it runs ok with a good amount of smoke and after a while of running it will loose all power and acceleration with allot of blue smoke. allot of smoke means its too rich but sudden power loss means its to lean. but one thing is that smoke or steam comes from the engine.
traxxasman104 is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 03:48 PM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Does this happen while accelerating from idle or when you are at speed?
howtowakeakar is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 04:11 PM
  #3  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 44
Default

Originally Posted by howtowakeakar View Post
Does this happen while accelerating from idle or when you are at speed?
um after im done and smoke comes of the engine and theres fule or something boiling by the glow plug and now it say the plug doesn't work anymore
traxxasman104 is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 04:40 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
 
Gliptal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 258
Default

Fuel boiling at the glow Plug, did you check to make sure the plug was tight? That could definitely cause some problems if it were loose.

Also make sure the copper/brass washer isn't missing from the glow plug.
Gliptal is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 04:54 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (4)
 
pinky2252s's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Broomfield, Colorado
Posts: 3,278
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Tighten the cooling head down if you can
pinky2252s is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 06:54 PM
  #6  
Tech Initiate
Thread Starter
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 44
Thumbs up

Originally Posted by pinky2252s View Post
Tighten the cooling head down if you can
wierldy enough i put it back in factory settings and it works fine but thanks for the tips
traxxasman104 is offline  
Old 06-10-2009, 06:55 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
iTrader: (8)
 
Akhor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Alberta,Canada
Posts: 1,386
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

When in doubt, go back to the original factory settings an re-tune. It's better to start rich and lean out then not have a clue where you are in the tune.
Akhor is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.