Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
throttle/brake help >

throttle/brake help

throttle/brake help

Old 05-28-2009, 05:34 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default throttle/brake help

Here is the problem im having:

http://s453.photobucket.com/albums/q...t=CIMG0001.flv

When i release the throttle it closes all the way. But when i release the brake it opens. How do i fix this. lmk thanks
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 05:42 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

how do i adjust it so that doesnt happen
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 05:46 PM
  #3  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Turn your idle screw in, should stop it from closing entirely.
howtowakeakar is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 05:55 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

wow. didnt help. this is getting dumb. i havent even driven this thing since i put in a new throttle servo. Awesome. Anyone else
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 05:57 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (7)
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 1,771
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Did you set your EPAs?
Chris__RC is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 05:58 PM
  #6  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I was gonna say move your EPA, but that would adversely affect your brakes, and normally the idle screw should help. Any one else? I'm drawing a blank here....
howtowakeakar is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 05:59 PM
  #7  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

are those the things at the end of the rod with the tiny allen screw in them?
i think i know what your talkin about but not sure
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:02 PM
  #8  
Tech Adept
 
Ralph Walters's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Georgia
Posts: 137
Default

You need to put a spring on the throttle shaft, between the ball cup and servo arm mount. The spring is like the one out of an ink pin.

You might also add a return spring.
Ralph Walters is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:03 PM
  #9  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

There is a spring on there
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:06 PM
  #10  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

my guess is ethier the throttle collar doesnt have enough if a gap or the idle is closed to much it could be the brake linkage setup i think that would affect it maybe
tc5 man is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:07 PM
  #11  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

is the servo centering
tc5 man is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:12 PM
  #12  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

When i release the brake, the servo does not center. it pulls the carb fully open
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:16 PM
  #13  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (13)
 
jhipps835's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 1,071
Trader Rating: 13 (88%+)
Default

wow. forget it, im done wit rc. if anyone wants to buy my truggy pm me
jhipps835 is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:23 PM
  #14  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by jhipps835 View Post
wow. forget it, im done wit rc. if anyone wants to buy my truggy pm me
Now now settle down no need to get hasty, if the servo is not centering then the servo is bad and needs to be replaced. Looks like the servo is bad to me.
Frank L is offline  
Old 05-28-2009, 06:23 PM
  #15  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (27)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 711
Trader Rating: 27 (100%+)
Default

lol...come on man im sure ur smart enough to figure that out...i mean its not something that people can really help u with online...more then likely the rod is staying hung up on the servo adjuster...not a big deal just sit down and figure it out....
mist467 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.