Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
engine/manifold gasket >

engine/manifold gasket

engine/manifold gasket

Old 05-14-2009, 03:38 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default engine/manifold gasket

do you have to have 2?? one on the engine and one in the manifold??? since they both but up in the same direction, why would you need 2 when you could just make the one bigger?
dreaux is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 03:40 PM
  #2  
Tech Master
iTrader: (18)
 
pyromania's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: North Hills, CA
Posts: 1,283
Trader Rating: 18 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
do you have to have 2?? one on the engine and one in the manifold??? since they both but up in the same direction, why would you need 2 when you could just make the one bigger?
LMAO. I don't know if your serious but you just need one on the engine. If you have a 1 piece pipe you also need one where the header connects to the pipe.
pyromania is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 03:42 PM
  #3  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Integra is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 03:44 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
RCmayor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 2,745
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Why would you need 2 shocks on the front or back of the car when they arms are connected together by the roll bars?
RCmayor is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 03:44 PM
  #5  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

You kind of ummmmmmm.........HAVE to seal both of them.
And it's cheaper to make 2 instead of one big one. Plus if one tears, you just replace that one, instead of 1 in some bizarre set-up.
howtowakeakar is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 04:19 PM
  #6  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: Foley, Al
Posts: 516
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

always entertaining !!
roadracer43 is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 04:32 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (6)
 
smracer31's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Wisconsin
Posts: 426
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

Dreux, did your car not come with the mbx6 manual? a lot of your questions can be found if you read through it!
smracer31 is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 04:45 PM
  #8  
Tech Master
iTrader: (67)
 
cary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,914
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

all i can say is DUDE are you for real
you kill me some times yes you need two of them one on
the motor and one on the header the part that goes in to the
pipe thin put the springs on
cary is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 04:46 PM
  #9  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
imaxx21's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: LA
Posts: 2,741
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

imaxx21 is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 05:13 PM
  #10  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (3)
 
SPEED37's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Last Best Place
Posts: 159
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

If you haven't been using one between the header and the pipe that would explain your tune going all over the place and the high rate of gasket failure.
SPEED37 is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 05:27 PM
  #11  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by SPEED37 View Post
If you haven't been using one between the header and the pipe that would explain your tune going all over the place and the high rate of gasket failure.
no no no. i have one already between the manifold/pipe. But my dynamite pipe came with a gasket that goes between the engine and manifold. AND my engine came with one on the exhaust. jjeeezz.
dreaux is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 05:30 PM
  #12  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (4)
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 775
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

I get what you mean now, just get rid of one of them, and use it as a spare.
howtowakeakar is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 05:34 PM
  #13  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (9)
 
RCmayor's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Overland Park, KS
Posts: 2,745
Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default

Use the spare as chewing gum.
RCmayor is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 05:35 PM
  #14  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by howtowakeakar View Post
I get what you mean now, just get rid of one of them, and use it as a spare.
don't laugh but i have been using 2. That explains the gas leeking out the back all over the place. And my shot glow plug. I am getting close!!!


this probably has something to do with it backfiring too.
dreaux is offline  
Old 05-14-2009, 05:36 PM
  #15  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by RCmayor View Post
Use the spare as chewing gum.
I was thinking it would be better as a butt plug for my girlfriend
dreaux is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.