Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
pics of modded starter boxes >

pics of modded starter boxes

pics of modded starter boxes

Old 05-11-2009, 06:10 PM
  #1  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (28)
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,843
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default pics of modded starter boxes

i'm about to modd my losi box. i want to c what some of u guys have done to ur boxes for some ideas. i want to c some pics to have an idea how to wire and what motors some of u r using. also some of the things other have tried that didn't work. looking forward to seeing some of ur work.
pballer2777 is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 06:35 PM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Here is my Ofna truggy starter box that I have added the losi top brackets from an 8 box. It will start anything, that is an 8 or an 8T. I recently broke in a GRP .28 and it was no problem, I did not have to unstick the piston, The box is a beast. I love it. It has a 14.8 losi 2200 lips and deans wet noodle throughout.

Frank L is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 07:13 PM
  #3  
Tech Apprentice
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 98
Default

Search for losi box, you should come up with the thread where somebody totally redid the box. Very clean nice installation. I just bought the OFNA box, I couldn't deal with the POS losi thing. Barely would turn my engine with the glow plug out...

Did it for ya !

http://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-of...-overhaul.html
NitroAmmo is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 07:34 PM
  #4  
Tech Master
iTrader: (17)
 
Ron Goetter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Goatsville, SC
Posts: 1,957
Trader Rating: 17 (95%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NitroAmmo View Post
Search for losi box, you should come up with the thread where somebody totally redid the box. Very clean nice installation. I just bought the OFNA box, I couldn't deal with the POS losi thing. Barely would turn my engine with the glow plug out...

Did it for ya !

http://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-of...-overhaul.html
What I've been finding is that people actually are pushing down on the box to hard. The losi box doesn't have any kind of stop on it so if you push down to hard it will bind up the box causing motor failures. I rewired my box and have a lipo in it. It will spin over just about anything now.
Ron Goetter is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 07:41 PM
  #5  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (28)
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,843
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ron Goetter View Post
What I've been finding is that people actually are pushing down on the box to hard. The losi box doesn't have any kind of stop on it so if you push down to hard it will bind up the box causing motor failures. I rewired my box and have a lipo in it. It will spin over just about anything now.
could u please post a pic of the inside
pballer2777 is offline  
Old 05-11-2009, 08:26 PM
  #6  
Tech Prophet
 
tc5 man's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: levittown pa
Posts: 16,999
Default

i just brought a losi eight box without modded it and it worked fine with my new engine soon as i headed the engine with a heat gun it turned it right over soon as it touched the flywheel it started . im using a 12v gell cell by the way
tc5 man is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 05:06 AM
  #7  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (28)
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,843
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

bump
pballer2777 is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 07:17 AM
  #8  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Ron Goetter View Post
What I've been finding is that people actually are pushing down on the box to hard. The losi box doesn't have any kind of stop on it so if you push down to hard it will bind up the box causing motor failures. I rewired my box and have a lipo in it. It will spin over just about anything now.

I did the same to my losi box with deans wet noodle and a 4s 2200 losi lipo and the box still had trouble. One day it got hot and shorted out a 90 buck lipo and I had to bowwor somebodys box to finish the race day. After that I junked the losi box and went with the ofna truggy box. Now life is easy. This box has way more power than I could ever use. No matter what you do to the losi box it still will fail eventually.
Frank L is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 07:29 AM
  #9  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (28)
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,843
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

i really don't want to dump the box. i have both 2.0 buggy and truggy and its the easiest way for both cars. carrying one box is great.
pballer2777 is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 08:16 AM
  #10  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

I love my losi box.
Integra is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 08:22 AM
  #11  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (148)
 
Frank L's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NorCal
Posts: 12,522
Trader Rating: 148 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Integra View Post
I love my losi box.

Just wait until it dumps on you. I over it too until it did me wrong.
Frank L is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 08:23 AM
  #12  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (28)
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,843
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Integra View Post
I love my losi box.
have u done anything to it. batteries motors or wiring
pballer2777 is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 08:28 AM
  #13  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by pballer2777 View Post
have u done anything to it. batteries motors or wiring


i do have deans 12g wet noodle 4 cell lipo but i do still use the stock motor's....i went the 55T integy route but they are Way too slow.
Integra is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 08:54 AM
  #14  
Tech Master
Thread Starter
iTrader: (28)
 
pballer2777's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: dirty jerz
Posts: 1,843
Trader Rating: 28 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Integra View Post
i do have deans 12g wet noodle 4 cell lipo but i do still use the stock motor's....i went the 55T integy route but they are Way too slow.
i was goin to use the titan 23t motors. i hope they r fast enough. also goin with the wet noodle and a 3cell lipo.
pballer2777 is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 08:59 AM
  #15  
Tech Master
iTrader: (67)
 
cary's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: NorCal
Posts: 1,914
Trader Rating: 67 (100%+)
Default

i have not been at this to long but i do see this same thead
come up all the time on hear and at the track you see guys
fighting with there starter boxs like the losi box y mod that
old box get one that will work all the time been thare dun that
get the ofna truggy box + lipo if it dont start itis dont fast
cary is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.