R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   Getting into 1/8 buggy racing. (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/294985-getting-into-1-8-buggy-racing.html)

wheelman25 05-05-2009 09:09 PM

Getting into 1/8 buggy racing.

Hello to all!

This is my first time posting to any RC forum!

I'm looking to get into 1/8 buggy racing asap and I am looking for some advice!
For now I'm just interested in "Club Level" racing. If I find myself being dominate (probally wishful thinking, lol:lol:) then I will think about moving up to more serious types of buggy racing. Because I do have lots of experience wheeling these things around the track.

I'm 25 years old and have been into the hobby for about 9 years now. That time was spent mainly "bashing" and not entering races -although I have rented tracks many times for the day to go have some fun on a dedicated surface. I have tons of expierence with Touring cars -mainly electric. But I also have alot of experience in the Nitro field on and off road.

So I am not clueless as to what I am getting myself into. At first I'am definetlly going to be on a budget. I have done a lot of research on what buggy to buy for this type of racing that i plan to do for now.

I have never bought a rtr. I have 11 diffrent kits that I have all built. But These 1/8 scale buggies are pricey. So to get my foot in the door im going to buy a rtr kit. What I plan to do is take it out of the box, tear it completely down and rebuild it so I know the ins and outs of the vehicle.

I have done alot of research on what buggy would be best for me to buy and I have decided that in the next couple days that im going to purchase the -Ofna hyper 7 tq black. I have found it almost everywhere for 299.00.

I know the first thing I need to do is replace the steering servo with a metal gear one thats kind of a no brainer!