Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
8ight T 2.0 Offset question >

8ight T 2.0 Offset question

8ight T 2.0 Offset question

Old 04-30-2009, 12:47 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (113)
 
wstuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,029
Trader Rating: 113 (98%+)
Default 8ight T 2.0 Offset question

Im running an 8ight 1.5 (2.0 body and chassis and 1.0 everything else)

ive been told that I can run standard wheels hubs with losi wheels but with aka wheels I need to run the +1/2 inch hubs.

Why is this.

Is it because the AKA wheels have a standard offset.
wstuart is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 04:27 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Since you haven't changed the arms, linkages, and steering components to the 2.0 yet, the 1/2" offset rims is what you want. The zero offset wheels will rub too much on the arms and linkages with the 1.0 parts still on there. AKA now has zero and 1/2" offset wheels out.
air8 is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 09:04 AM
  #3  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by air8 View Post
Since you haven't changed the arms, linkages, and steering components to the 2.0 yet, the 1/2" offset rims is what you want. The zero offset wheels will rub too much on the arms and linkages with the 1.0 parts still on there. AKA now has zero and 1/2" offset wheels out.
I don't think AKA has 1/2 offset wheels out. Where did you see this?

As for your question, yes you will need to run either 1/2 offset wheels, or 1/2" extended hubs. Running zero offsets on the 1.0 suspension would make your track width very narrow, and cause binding problems like air8 said.

Here are the extended hubs you will need. The losi ones are cheaper, but the KHZ ones are a lot nicer because they capture the drive pin with a big O-ring.

http://carolinasrc.com/Webstore/Scri...idproduct=5246
http://carolinasrc.com/Webstore/Scri...idproduct=4252
JAMMINKRAZY is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 01:11 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (113)
 
wstuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,029
Trader Rating: 113 (98%+)
Default

Do the losi wheels come with 1/2 inch offset?
wstuart is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 01:20 PM
  #5  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
hambone's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: Bloomsburg, Pa.
Posts: 2,436
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wstuart View Post
Do the losi wheels come with 1/2 inch offset?
Losi has both 1/2" and zero offset rims. So do other manufacturers like proline for example. You need 1/2" offset LPR sized rims.
hambone is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 03:50 PM
  #6  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (113)
 
wstuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,029
Trader Rating: 113 (98%+)
Default

Cool - thanks for all the help guys.

So I have a set of Losi truggy wheels but I dont know what offset they are - is there any way I can tell?
wstuart is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 04:03 PM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by wstuart View Post
Cool - thanks for all the help guys.

So I have a set of Losi truggy wheels but I dont know what offset they are - is there any way I can tell?
Yup. The way you can tell them apart is where the wheel mounts. ie where the hex/wheel nut sits. If it is just about flush with the face of the wheel it is zero offset. If it is recessed 1/2 of the way through the wheel, it is 1/2 offset.

These are zero offsets...
http://carolinasrc.com/Webstore/Scri...idproduct=6608

These are 1/2 offset....
http://carolinasrc.com/Webstore/Scri...idproduct=6220

Click the pictures for an exploded view. See the difference?
JAMMINKRAZY is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 04:22 PM
  #8  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (113)
 
wstuart's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: San Diego
Posts: 2,029
Trader Rating: 113 (98%+)
Default

ooooh - awesome. thats makes alot more sense now
wstuart is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 09:29 PM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by JAMMINKRAZY View Post
I don't think AKA has 1/2 offset wheels out. Where did you see this?
I guess I was wrong. I went back through the news on Neobuggy and it must have been the VP Pro wheels I was thinking of.

Sorry for mis-leading anyone that AKA has 1/2" off-set wheels.
air8 is offline  
Old 04-30-2009, 10:11 PM
  #10  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (17)
 
JAMMINKRAZY's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: Pittsburgh PA
Posts: 6,575
Trader Rating: 17 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by air8 View Post
I guess I was wrong. I went back through the news on Neobuggy and it must have been the VP Pro wheels I was thinking of.

Sorry for mis-leading anyone that AKA has 1/2" off-set wheels.
It's cool man. I was actually curious to see if I was wrong. They do need to make some 1/2 offsets.
JAMMINKRAZY is offline  
Old 05-01-2009, 02:14 AM
  #11  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (7)
 
air8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: Hutch, KS
Posts: 5,748
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Agreed.
air8 is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.