Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
how much gap between brake disk and pad??? >

how much gap between brake disk and pad???

how much gap between brake disk and pad???

Old 04-25-2009, 09:12 PM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default how much gap between brake disk and pad???

this part is hard for me to get right because for good braking it seems i have to have the pads so close it almost brakes while the car is idoling and when i throtle the brakes let off??? it i put them to lose they dont brake at all. but i am concerned if this is right. I have them close but does that create drag on the engine??? I honestly don''t know if i am doing it right and want to get it right. How much separation is ok on pad/disk??? i have mine as close as possible. Is this right.
dreaux is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 09:16 PM
  #2  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Erie Pa.
Posts: 3,323
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

Just an easy way to do it is push the pad towards the diff and make shure that there is no more than 1mm of screw showing. Really you want alittle less than that, you dont want to tune your brakes from there you want to tune them from the linkage. Just make shure they spin freely and are even and not too loose like I said.
malik is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 09:18 PM
  #3  
Tech Master
iTrader: (55)
 
8&stuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2008
Location: In.
Posts: 1,401
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by dreaux View Post
this part is hard for me to get right because for good braking it seems i have to have the pads so close it almost brakes while the car is idoling and when i throtle the brakes let off??? it i put them to lose they dont brake at all. but i am concerned if this is right. I have them close but does that create drag on the engine??? I honestly don''t know if i am doing it right and want to get it right. How much separation is ok on pad/disk??? i have mine as close as possible. Is this right.
on a losi its the thickness of a washer, like .005" or somthing. if your not used to it and racing you might have more control w/more drag
8&stuff is offline  
Old 04-25-2009, 09:20 PM
  #4  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Posts: 3,660
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

thanx. will do. if i get the pads right it will be much eisier with the linkage.
dreaux is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 09:06 AM
  #5  
Tech Master
iTrader: (14)
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: michigan
Posts: 1,678
Trader Rating: 14 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 8&stuff View Post
on a losi its the thickness of a washer, like .005" or somthing. if your not used to it and racing you might have more control w/more drag
its a washer but not .005", its .020".

Losi has 2 washers, the gold ball stud and then a wide gray one used for adjusting anti squat on their electric cars, the golds are .030" and the grays are .020". I use these as a starting point and go from there if necessary.
o.s. power is offline  
Old 04-26-2009, 09:26 AM
  #6  
Tech Regular
 
Gliptal's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Portland, OR
Posts: 258
Default

I use the back side of an xacto blade, it's easier than trying to stick a washer in there.
Gliptal is offline  

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.