R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   OS V-Spec / Pinch, Rebuild, Replace? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/290759-os-v-spec-pinch-rebuild-replace.html)

mebolson 04-17-2009 09:46 PM

OS V-Spec / Pinch, Rebuild, Replace?

Please forgive me, I'm new to nitro.
I have an OS V-spec that has 4 gallons or so through. The last race I started having issues flaming out. Replaced glow plug, fuel lines, etc... Took it to the track today and the engine would not hold an idle consistently. An experienced friend spun the motor and said it hardly has any pinch left. When the motor is hot it has little pinch, when it is cold it has a pinch.
What are my options if I keep this motor? Any ideas of costs?
Thanks,
E

gotspeed_2000 04-17-2009 09:56 PM

Originally Posted by mebolson (Post 5698872)
Please forgive me, I'm new to nitro.
I have an OS V-spec that has 4 gallons or so through. The last race I started having issues flaming out. Replaced glow plug, fuel lines, etc... Took it to the track today and the engine would not hold an idle consistently. An experienced friend spun the motor and said it hardly has any pinch left. When the motor is hot it has little pinch, when it is cold it has a pinch.
What are my options if I keep this motor? Any ideas of costs?
Thanks,
E

If the bearings and rod are in good condition, contact a sleeve reconditioner such as rayaracing or osrocket to have your sleeve pinched. This will extend the life of the motor. While doing this, it's a really good time to change out the bearing of the vspec also. TKO's are good and are inexpensive upgrade worth every penny. If you go with a medium pinch, and change the bearings is pretty close to a new motor as long as the crank and rod are good. Should last a few more gallons for under 100 bucks for the pinch and the bearings. Good luck.

Joey Powell 04-18-2009 06:50 AM