Flywheel wont budge

Search this Thread

Old 01-05-2009, 02:13 AM
Tech Rookie

Default Flywheel wont budge

Hi there
Im new to the r/c world so plz be nice
Anyway after letting my Tamiya mighty ballista cooldown i went to start
it and pulled the pullstart a couple times. Then the the pullstart wouldnt budge. Then i went to see if the flywheel was moving but it didnt budge
So what could be the problem?

Thanks
Old 01-05-2009, 02:29 AM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)

Either it's vapor locked, or the piston is stuck at the top of it's stroke. Loosen the glow plug an take a screw driver to the flywheel from the bottom and make it turn over until the piston is at the bottom of it's stroke. Then tighen your glow plug back up.
Old 01-05-2009, 03:54 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 74 (100%+)

Originally Posted by yummyguts
Hi there
Im new to the r/c world so plz be nice
Anyway after letting my Tamiya mighty ballista cooldown i went to start
it and pulled the pullstart a couple times. Then the the pullstart wouldnt budge. Then i went to see if the flywheel was moving but it didnt budge
So what could be the problem?

Thanks
Hey take out your glow plug get some heat into it by a heat gun aim the gun around he cooling head area get it nice and warm say over 200c is good then you will be good to go
cheers
Old 01-05-2009, 02:53 PM
Tech Rookie

thanks for the replys guys
Old 01-05-2009, 04:54 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

Hi I am new as well but tell me if this makes sense. Could he have possibly locked up the clutch shoes and mushroomed them against the clutch bell. This could happen due to giving the buggy gas and not letting the tires spin freely.
Old 01-05-2009, 05:02 PM
Tech Fanatic

Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)