OS VSEC PROBLEM

Reply

Old 12-16-2008, 12:53 AM
  #16  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
MaTt 93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 581
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

ok thanks again for the help

I'll pull it apart this weekend and give it a good cleanout.

thanks again
MaTt 93 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-16-2008, 01:10 AM
  #17  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (55)
 
jpalessi's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: SoCal
Posts: 4,747
Trader Rating: 55 (100%+)
Default

No problem! Post back in here with your findings.
jpalessi is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 12:58 AM
  #18  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
MaTt 93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 581
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

well i finally got time to pull it apart and have a look and its all good. i'v also tried stating it but it just won't start . Oh its not burning plugs anymore either.

thanks
Matt
MaTt 93 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 01:09 AM
  #19  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (25)
 
losi_racer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: mesa,az
Posts: 6,470
Trader Rating: 25 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MaTt 93 View Post
well i finally got time to pull it apart and have a look and its all good. i'v also tried stating it but it just won't start . Oh its not burning plugs anymore either.

thanks
Matt
HEAT!HEAT!HEAT!
losi_racer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 01:31 AM
  #20  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
MaTt 93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 581
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

yeah i'v heatd it up 120 degrees celcius and it just spins around on the stater box
MaTt 93 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 01:43 AM
  #21  
Tech Master
iTrader: (3)
 
TTR:EB4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Whyalla, South Australia
Posts: 1,290
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by MaTt 93 View Post
yeah i'v heatd it up 120 degrees celcius and it just spins around on the stater box
plug new? glow plug igniter charged?
TTR:EB4 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 02:15 AM
  #22  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (19)
 
looper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: DFW area of Texas
Posts: 2,224
Trader Rating: 19 (100%+)
Default

how many volts are you feeding to the glow plug?
looper is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 02:26 AM
  #23  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 215
Default

Cumbustion engines need four things to come together in order to operate.

Fuel
Air
Compression
Ignition

You shouldnt have problems with compression, in that you have to heat it up to get it to even spin over.

If your air filter is clean you shouldnt have a problem with air.

I dont care if i just pulled a fresh glow plug from its package, I always test it with a known working glow heater before i install it. If that checks out ignition is taken care of.

Fuel can be kinda tricky on these things. Of course use fresh fuel. Check and make sure you have your fuel/pressure line installed correctly. Look at the pickup in the fuel tank to make sure its not trashed. If you have a fuel filter make sure its not stopped up. If you can see fuel reaching the HSN inlet you are still not in the clear. Take carb off and give it a good cleaning and inspection, there is a good chance trash has plugged up an orfice that lets fuel through.

One last thing i just thought of. Make sure the starter box is spinning in the right direction. I dont think she will even begin to fire if your spinning it backwards.
NCWC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 03:21 AM
  #24  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
MaTt 93's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Australia, NSW
Posts: 581
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

ok, everything is charged and i'v got a new plug in there. There are 1.2 volts going into the plug. I'll set the carb to the settings that jpalessi suggested above and check that there are no blocks any where. I'm pretty sure that the stater box is fine because i use the same stater box with a different car and it starts fine.

thanks for the help, i'll get this engine sorted sooner or later
MaTt 93 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 03:44 AM
  #25  
Tech Adept
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 215
Default

I forgot something, but i hope for your sake its ok.

Since its a Vspec, give it a good visual inspection of the bottom side of the case. They can crack along the bottom usually parallel with the crankshaft. You will need good lighting and look it over like your investigating a murder scene. If you see something that looks like a crack, but your not sure, take a hobby knife and see if you can stick the balde in it. Check the whole length of the suspected crack. If the blade dont go in its probably not a crack. I know you have had the engine apart recently but ive seen alot of these cracks and they are usually not easily identified. They are usually easier to see from the inside because the black coating on the case can hide them. A crack will let pressure escape from the crankcase. Pressure that is used to force fuel upwards into the combustion chamber.
NCWC is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 05:26 AM
  #26  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (4)
 
rdcracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Tampa Fl
Posts: 476
Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default

Like NCWC said it is common for people to mount the motor on the engine mounts first tight. then mount it on the frame which can stress the case and crack it. Check this as it is very common. Try taking the air cleaner off and putting a LITTLE fuel directly into the carb to see if it is a problem with the carb or fuel line/tank. Also try putting your finger over the exhaust while you try to start it to force fuel into the carb.
Good luck. These are great engines and basically trouble free
rdcracer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2009, 07:30 AM
  #27  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (2)
 
l3asher's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Broussard, Louisiana
Posts: 956
Trader Rating: 2 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by NCWC View Post
I forgot something, but i hope for your sake its ok.

Since its a Vspec, give it a good visual inspection of the bottom side of the case. They can crack along the bottom usually parallel with the crankshaft. You will need good lighting and look it over like your investigating a murder scene. If you see something that looks like a crack, but your not sure, take a hobby knife and see if you can stick the balde in it. Check the whole length of the suspected crack. If the blade dont go in its probably not a crack. I know you have had the engine apart recently but ive seen alot of these cracks and they are usually not easily identified. They are usually easier to see from the inside because the black coating on the case can hide them. A crack will let pressure escape from the crankcase. Pressure that is used to force fuel upwards into the combustion chamber.
This was a problem on the older V Specs, but has been corrected on the new ones, correct?
l3asher is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Privacy Statement Terms of Service