Wiki Posts
Search

thinking of buying a revo

Search this Thread

Old 12-12-2008, 09:22 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 4 (100%+)
Default thinking of buying a revo

so i am looking for a new offroad truck to bash around with my son.
he just received a new slash.
im thinking that it would be fun to give nitro a go.

i have never had or used a nitro truck/car
so obviously i have no experience with tuning or whatever.
is the revo going to be a good truck to 'learn' on?

so please give your input.
thanks
Old 12-12-2008, 09:28 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)

revos are super fun and are great bashers, and if you get more into it you can also race one.

tuning
i would break the motor in as the manual says, but it may be easier ounce it is broke in take it to the local hobby shop and ask if one of the days that week they can teach you how to tune, or if you have friends into it to teach you? all i have to say is never try hard to tune, it will be very frustrating when you cannt get your new car going, because you siezed the motor for being too lean. but if you have any questions, your local hobby shop will always be there for you hopefully, and most shops carry traxxas parts. they are going to be your best source of information.
Old 12-12-2008, 09:35 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 96 (100%+)

Yes, the Revo is a good truck. Is a good truck to learn how to tune a nitro engine on? No. None of them are, but you must learn somewhere.

I'd suggest picking up a 1/10 2wd RTR gas truck, such as the AE gt2. They're pretty reliable, cheaper, and won't go through fuel like an MT.

Read up, and be patient with whatever you buy.
Old 12-12-2008, 09:43 PM
Tech Regular

sorry.. whats an MT ?
Old 12-12-2008, 09:53 PM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)

Originally Posted by macscac
sorry.. whats an MT ?