Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Hudy Set Up System >

Hudy Set Up System

Hudy Set Up System

Reply

Old 12-08-2008, 05:48 AM
  #1  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default Hudy Set Up System

I am getting the 1/8 scale offroad system for christmas and was wondering is it a must to get the board and decal? Or is it just for track width, something im not gonna cchange? thanks
franklucas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 06:46 AM
  #2  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by franklucas View Post
I am getting the 1/8 scale offroad system for christmas and was wondering is it a must to get the board and decal? Or is it just for track width, something im not gonna cchange? thanks


neither are NEEDED....but the 1/8 Offroad decal would be on my list if i was ordering...and could find it in stock somewhere....but ya....for a board go to Home depot or a hardware store and buy a sheet of melamine around 2'x2'....nothing worse then paying 43$ for a peice of 5$ malemine
Integra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 11:14 AM
  #3  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (1)
 
DOMIT's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe
Posts: 4,034
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Blah... get a nice big sheet of glass. MUCH flatter and smoother.
DOMIT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 11:26 AM
  #4  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by DOMIT View Post
Blah... get a nice big sheet of glass. MUCH flatter and smoother.


you gonna bring that to the track with ya ? little dangerous wouldn't ya think ? maby some 1/2" plexi.......meh w/e...just something Smoooth and cheep and wont shatter if you accidentally drop somethin metal on it.
Integra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 12:47 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
desertbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

Who the hell brings a setup station to the track.
desertbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 12:52 PM
  #6  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by desertbird View Post
Who the hell brings a setup station to the track.


when you travel 1600km across canada to a National event.....you tend to bring everything including the kitchen sink......and what if you wacked out a part and needed to replace something that would throw out the set-up....its common place to bring a station to the track imo...if its a local track your at ALL the time....maby not....but a station+board is Important imo on those big race's where ANYthing can happen.
Integra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 12:54 PM
  #7  
Tech Regular
 
BOOST's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Pukekohe, New Zealand
Posts: 266
Default

Originally Posted by desertbird View Post
Who the hell brings a setup station to the track.
You kidding me!?...ever checked your car after a big stack and seen how much it has changed. We always bring it and all the boys check their cars!!
BOOST is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 01:04 PM
  #8  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (7)
 
desertbird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Surprise, AZ
Posts: 551
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

OK, a national event I can see, you got me there.

With the amount of slop in nitro off road cars (more so with Losi) I think the station is over kill, not saying it is a bad thing, not putting anyone down that uses one, and dont take my opinion the wrong way. They are totally a kickass gaget if you have one. But, most people can get close enough with a 10 dollar camber guage. Hell, I use a old Helicopter pitch guage But then again, if I were running national events on a professional level I'd probably have a diferent opinion.
desertbird is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 01:20 PM
  #9  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
scoobie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Its a PITA to set up and take down a station all the time. I made something recently that worked out AWESOME!

I got the spektrum deluxe hardshell case http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/26664

It turns out the spare foam block fits into the box on a T8bag perfectly http://www.amainhobbies.com/product_...ducts_id/21366

so I made this




Makes it really convienient to take the setup jig to the track.
scoobie1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 01:27 PM
  #10  
Tech Lord
iTrader: (8)
 
Integra's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 12,484
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

that's a Smart Idea scoobie1....Touche
Integra is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 02:02 PM
  #11  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (3)
 
scoobie1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: NorCal
Posts: 330
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Integra View Post
that's a Smart Idea scoobie1....Touche

Thanks dude...every once in a while I have a good one
scoobie1 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 02:18 PM
  #12  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (125)
 
Briguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by desertbird View Post
Who the hell brings a setup station to the track.
Any serious racer . I bring just about everything , never know if you need it .
Briguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 03:30 PM
  #13  
K_B
Tech Master
iTrader: (69)
 
K_B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Anchorage, Alaska
Posts: 1,434
Trader Rating: 69 (100%+)
Default

Would a setup station really be a necessity even for the regular club racer?

I can certainly see why experts/pros would use one, but it just doesn't seem like such a priority for the club racer. Would putting my rig on a setup station make such a difference that I would go from a consistent 3rd placer to a winner? The only time I've ever seen that much a difference in my own performace is when I finally figure out the right set of tires for a particular track. Handling instantly becomes a night/day difference.
K_B is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 03:35 PM
  #14  
Tech Regular
Thread Starter
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 434
Trader Rating: 8 (90%+)
Default

i'm not new but i am a club racer but i wanted to learn more about setup and I wanted to be able to make accurate adj. to tell what they do. I probably would do better with a nice 3 port rb s3 or something but buy a modded engine seems for fun to me lol. i definately see you point though thanks
franklucas is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 12-08-2008, 03:48 PM
  #15  
Tech Apprentice
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Bend Oregon
Posts: 80
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

It's simple in my book, if you have the money to invest in a setup station then do it. Since I am a poor college student I opted for the rpm monster gauge and it works fine. I have seen plenty of fast guys using it for their setup.
Chedster is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service