Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Newbee Engine help!! >

Newbee Engine help!!

Newbee Engine help!!

Old 11-06-2008, 08:51 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 13 (100%+)
Default Newbee Engine help!!

To start out -I have a Losi eight buggy, running a radical 621t engine with a JP-4 pipe.
I have a couple of issues. I finally got the engine to start up after a new state box that can turn the motor, now once the engine is running - the wheels are moving and setting it down it slowly moves. then when I apply the brake the engine shuts down. I have the low and high speed needles set according to the distributer.
Like the thread title states - I am new to nitro and do not want to ruin the engine before I get to race it.

Thanks in advance.
Old 11-06-2008, 09:07 AM
Tech Elite

Trader Rating: 33 (100%+)

new engines require break in. As you stated.. the motor is very tight when new.. you needed another box in order to get it to crank..

First the first tank.. you may want to let the motor just heat up and such on the box.. dont worry bout puttin it on the ground.. then after that first tank.. let the engine cool down.. be sure to turn the flywheel, so the piston is at the bottom of the stroke.. you will know this, as, when the piston is at top.. its very hard to turn..

Let the engine cool down completly.. next.. get you a hair dryer, heat the motor up, crank it, and just put around for a little.. understand, the engine is in a very rich state.. and will be hard to run in this state.. so.. be ready to be restarting alot.. just drive the car in circles.. go left circle, right circle.. just blippin the throttle.. after this 2nd tank.. same apply.. bottom out the motor.. and let cool completly..

3rd tank is when you can start leaning a little bit..

if you would like.. pm me with any questijons, or concerns, we may even be able to chat on the phone, might be easier..

Take care, and just follow those instructions..

Daniel Grobe
Team Kyosho