R/C Tech Forums

R/C Tech Forums (https://www.rctech.net/forum/)
-   Nitro Off-Road (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road-130/)
-   -   Haboa Hyper 8 pro? (https://www.rctech.net/forum/nitro-off-road/247907-haboa-hyper-8-pro.html)

hugh_b 10-16-2008 07:41 AM

Haboa Hyper 8 pro?

Hey guy's, i've been offered a brand new Haboa Hyper 8 pro rolling chassis kit for £130ono. I'm relatively new to the hobby and i'm currently running a kyosho inferno 7.5 mk3 sports to learn with.

Obviously i will want to upgrade soon as i have a whole winter racing season approaching. I've been looking around at my local model shop who stock losi, team associated, kyosho, hobao etc They have good parts backup for everything. I do like the look of the hyper 8 i have been offered and the price is affordable at the moment. I've seen mixed reviews but what do you guy's think? Is the buggy race worthy or would i be much better off waiting and buying something newer later on such as a losi 8ight or mp9 etc.?? Any help/opinions appreciated. -Hugh

Briguy 10-16-2008 08:18 AM

I had a Hyper 8 and was a great buggy to run and can be very competitive . But , be prepared to replace parts as they wear pretty fast .

hugh_b 10-16-2008 11:10 AM

cool, so are there any parts to watch for in particular or just in general? How does the quality compare to a brand such as kyosho? thanks-Hugh

Jaz240 10-16-2008 11:22 AM

Take a look at all worldwide major race results over the past 3 years, Have you ever seen any hobao product in the winners circle? I'm thinking this may change with the release of the Hyper 9, but for now, stick with proven winners: Losi, Xray, Mugen, Kyosho, AE

bbennett 10-16-2008 11:29 AM

My friend runs a hyper 8 at local club and state pro races and always finishes in the top 3. His only problem has been with his motor. The chassis has held up and been fine for him.

D8 10-16-2008 11:54 AM