Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
Steering Servo acting weird!!!!! >

Steering Servo acting weird!!!!!

Steering Servo acting weird!!!!!

Reply

Old 10-13-2008, 07:15 AM
  #1  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (52)
 
Toiffel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,169
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default Steering Servo acting weird!!!!!

I have a Airtronics 959 in my truggy, and have noticed while I accelerate or hold the throttle wide open, the steering servo moves left to right, not a lot but it def. moves, is this a sign of the throttle going bad?? or something else?? I've had the servo for maybe 2 years.....
Toiffel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 07:45 AM
  #2  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (125)
 
Briguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

Airtronics doesn`t have a 959 servo . All their servos start with 94 and are six characters long .
Briguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 07:56 AM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (1)
 
boostfiend's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Selah WA
Posts: 543
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Toiffel View Post
I have a Airtronics 959 in my truggy, and have noticed while I accelerate or hold the throttle wide open, the steering servo moves left to right, not a lot but it def. moves, is this a sign of the throttle going bad?? or something else?? I've had the servo for maybe 2 years.....
Sounds like a faulty ground or receiver error.
boostfiend is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 07:58 AM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
 
helibrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 801
Default

Well, the possibilities are endless.
Here's a link to some info that may point you in the right direction.

http://www.rchobbies.org/cars_stop-radio-glitching.htm

Good luck and let us know how it turns out.
helibrian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 08:02 AM
  #5  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (125)
 
Briguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

Sometimes this happens when the insulation is worn on a wire and is toughing metal , or touching another servo wire , or antenna wire . But it could be dozens of small things . If you have a spare steering servo try it and see if the same happens or not .
Briguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 08:04 AM
  #6  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (52)
 
Toiffel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,169
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Briguy View Post
Airtronics doesn`t have a 959 servo . All their servos start with 94 and are six characters long .
I meant 359
Toiffel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 08:13 AM
  #7  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (125)
 
Briguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

Do you mean 94359Z ?

Check the wires and try a different servo .
Briguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 08:20 AM
  #8  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (52)
 
Toiffel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,169
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by Briguy View Post
Do you mean 94359Z ?

Check the wires and try a different servo .
wow, yes we are talking about
Airtronics 94359Z
Weight 2.18 oz
Dimensions 1.54x0.79x1.47
Torque @ 4.8V 160inch/oz @ 6v 200inch/oz
Speed @ 4.8V .13 Sec @ 6v .10 sec
Coreless motor and 2 ball bearings

Not to be confused with ??????????
C'mon stop being soo complicated.......
Toiffel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 08:23 AM
  #9  
Tech Champion
iTrader: (125)
 
Briguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Ottawa , IL
Posts: 8,128
Trader Rating: 125 (100%+)
Default

Airtronics has older models that have your 359 number in it . Can`t do much help unless we know which servo you have . complicated ? No .
Briguy is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 08:24 AM
  #10  
Tech Fanatic
 
helibrian's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 801
Default

Lotta sticklers for detail here. Maybe it's a good thing.

Just check out that link. You should be able to track it down.
helibrian is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 08:50 AM
  #11  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (26)
 
moeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 526
Trader Rating: 26 (100%+)
Default

I've had bad switches cause weird things to happen to servos. Everything from glitches to an occasional runaway...
moeman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 08:52 AM
  #12  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (52)
 
Toiffel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,169
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

tnx Heliman I''l do that and will switch servos too!!!
Toiffel is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old 10-13-2008, 08:53 AM
  #13  
Tech Elite
Thread Starter
iTrader: (52)
 
Toiffel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Westchester, NY
Posts: 4,169
Trader Rating: 52 (100%+)
Default

yeah I'll probably bypass on/off switch make sure that's not the cause. I just thought that my
Airtronics 94359Z
Weight 2.18 oz
Dimensions 1.54x0.79x1.47
Torque @ 4.8V 160inch/oz @ 6v 200inch/oz
Speed @ 4.8V .13 Sec @ 6v .10 sec
Coreless motor and 2 ball bearings

was getting old and tired.
Toiffel is offline  
Reply With Quote

Currently Active Users Viewing This Thread: 1 (0 members and 1 guests)
 
Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us Archive Advertising Cookie Policy Terms of Service