stalling motor

Old 09-19-2008, 08:57 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default stalling motor

having a problem once it gets some temp(around 200-230) it wants to stall. its a 427 with a MC-9 plug and running O'Donnell 30%. could it be that i need a warmer plug? or maybe not a good tune? also once it stalls it doesnt want to start back up.any suggestions
rjs_13203 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 05:08 AM
  #2  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: All Over So. Fla.
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

How much fuel have you run in it? Could be father time has got you. And could be air leak some where. The list of could be's is long and hard to do with out more info. First, richen up the HS a little. How old is the glow plug? They do go bad after a while. Why do you think they cost so much? Try this and get back to us soon and let us know.
The Working Man is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 05:35 AM
  #3  
Tech Addict
iTrader: (6)
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Evansville, IN
Posts: 671
Trader Rating: 6 (100%+)
Default

When does it die? When accelerating, braking, coasting as these can all be caused by different problems.
JLinney is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 05:43 AM
  #4  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (35)
 
vladconnery's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 992
Trader Rating: 35 (100%+)
Default

Been down this road before. If it only starts and runs when it cool thats trouble. Usually the sign of an engine thats soon to be a paperweight.
vladconnery is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 06:23 AM
  #5  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

only dies when its idling
rjs_13203 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 06:31 AM
  #6  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 290
Default

Could be all sorts of things, included what you said, but without more information any suggestions would just be wild speculation.
cracka is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 06:49 AM
  #7  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

less then a gallion on it, brand new plug. going to check the tank later and also probably but new lines. someone also told me to lean it out cuz i have been running it rich, since everyone says its better to run it rich. also this is my first nitro engine so it is probably user error. also i cant really get it to sustain an idle to well.
rjs_13203 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 06:55 AM
  #8  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: All Over So. Fla.
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Now is the time to Google Ron Paris Racing
The Working Man is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 06:57 AM
  #9  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

i have read through that was just looking for an outside opinion
rjs_13203 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 08:35 AM
  #10  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 290
Default

so which is it, when it gets to 1/2 a tank or when it gets warm?
cracka is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 08:37 AM
  #11  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

i want to say at like half a tank, im about to presure test the tank. and at a half a tank it running about 200-230. also doesnt want to start back up after it stalls
rjs_13203 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 08:42 AM
  #12  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 290
Default

Originally Posted by rjs_13203 View Post
i want to say at like half a tank, im about to presure test the tank. and at a half a tank it running about 200-230
The problem is, like I said above, it could be all sorts of things and asking here is just going to make the problem worse because anyone has been given such little information they're just guessing as to the answer because you really haven't given enough information to diagnose the problem.
Then when you start two entirely different threads relative to the same issue but stating different reasons, it further clouds the issue.
I understand you're a rookie, but all you're going to do is just chase your tail with anything you get here.
You really need to take it to someone experienced so they can put their hands on it.
cracka is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 08:45 AM
  #13  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

well the lid leaks air, so going to buy a new lid and see if that works. if not i will just start replacing things then, dont really know anyone around here so its up to me.
rjs_13203 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 10:44 AM
  #14  
Tech Adept
iTrader: (8)
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 177
Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)
Default

the o rings are replacable i the tank opening i ,have glued a block under the springs to tighten up a lid that popped open a little ,when my daughters car would land hard on it's roof
153stars is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 11:13 AM
  #15  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: All Over So. Fla.
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default

Originally Posted by 153stars View Post
the o rings are replacable i the tank opening i ,have glued a block under the springs to tighten up a lid that popped open a little ,when my daughters car would land hard on it's roof
Hey, good idea!
The Working Man is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.