Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
shutting of at 1/2 >

shutting of at 1/2

shutting of at 1/2

Old 09-17-2008, 04:31 PM
  #1  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default shutting of at 1/2

what would cause the engine to shut off at a 1/2 tank??
rjs_13203 is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 04:58 PM
  #2  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
bigsquidracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: redding
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

there a couple of reasons.

air leek ( chek filters, and tank top for back pressure)

running to lean and over heated.

glow plug.
bigsquidracer is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 05:12 PM
  #3  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

runs in the 230's but im starting to think my cap is leaking, everytime i run it seems like there is fuel on the top of the tank. could that be the cause??
rjs_13203 is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 06:08 PM
  #4  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
bigsquidracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: redding
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

ya because the top on the tank has to be sealed nicley because it keeps back pressure on the fuel, and fuel wont be able to get to the engine.

how long is your fuel line and how many filters
bigsquidracer is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 06:21 PM
  #5  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

no filter, factory setup, i just got it
rjs_13203 is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 10:54 PM
  #6  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
bigsquidracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: redding
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

ok. than it might be the tank cap and its not getting back pressure some times and it doesn't get fuel.

also check how good the plug is and change the fuel line.


the nipple that is on the tank cap, make sure that is tight. use needle nose pliers to tighten it.
bigsquidracer is offline  
Old 09-17-2008, 11:00 PM
  #7  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 290
Default

depends --- on if it's half full, or half empty .





cracka is offline  
Old 09-18-2008, 04:48 PM
  #8  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
bigsquidracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: redding
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Thumbs up

haha good one
bigsquidracer is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 07:23 PM
  #9  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

would it also make it so it wouldnt want to start if its warmed up, someone said something to me about clutch spring issue?
rjs_13203 is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 10:02 PM
  #10  
Tech Elite
iTrader: (3)
 
xlgraphicspro's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Omaha Nebraska
Posts: 2,061
Trader Rating: 3 (100%+)
Default

so it dies at half empty? could be a faulty tank. half full is usually at the molding line of your tank, it could have a slight crack along the molding line that would cause your tank to lose pressure as soon as the fuel went to half empty. Pressure is usually fine when the tank is full because the fuel is creating a seal at the crack, but as soon as the fuel falls below that crack, air rushes into the tank, causing all the fuel in the fuel line to rush out and your engine dies!
xlgraphicspro is offline  
Old 09-19-2008, 10:16 PM
  #11  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

would it also cause a problem restarting, when at half full??
rjs_13203 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 12:31 AM
  #12  
Tech Regular
iTrader: (7)
 
bigsquidracer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: redding
Posts: 445
Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)
Default

it all leads to back pressure probs in my eyes

what kind of pipe r u running
bigsquidracer is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 04:26 AM
  #13  
Tech Fanatic
iTrader: (1)
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Location: All Over So. Fla.
Posts: 985
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)
Default Tank leak

What brand is it? Let me guess, Losi? They are known for this. More than likely there's a crack someplace. Take it off, plug the outlet, put some long line on inlet(the cap) put it under water and blow. It will show it's self then. If a crack you can mend it with a soidering gun and hot glue. Around the lid, just replace it. Hope this helps....
The Working Man is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 06:24 AM
  #14  
Tech Addict
Thread Starter
iTrader: (5)
 
rjs_13203's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: lowell, nc
Posts: 725
Trader Rating: 5 (100%+)
Default

has a jp-3 pipe. also going to test the tank today. also someone mentioned to me it could be im running it to rich?
rjs_13203 is offline  
Old 09-20-2008, 08:34 AM
  #15  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 290
Default

so which is it, when it gets to 1/2 a tank or when it gets warm?
cracka is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service - Do Not Sell My Personal Information

Copyright 2018 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Use of this site indicates your consent to the Terms of Use.