Go Back  R/C Tech Forums > General Forums > Nitro Off-Road
rebuilding shocks. >

rebuilding shocks.

rebuilding shocks.

Old 09-14-2008, 02:10 PM
Tech Adept

Default rebuilding shocks.

im going to pull ny shocks off today and put new oils and aluminum heads on them but i was wondering what kind of oil and how much i should run just as a starter? i mean im new to oil weight and how much so what is an average to start at and then i can add some or put thinner or thicker oil basiclly can somone explain how the shock fluid works
Old 09-14-2008, 03:05 PM
Tech Master

I would see what the guys are using at the track. What car?
Old 09-14-2008, 07:33 PM
Tech Regular

This will help whit how to re-build your shocks.... As for oil weights, i would see what people at your track are running!
Old 09-14-2008, 09:17 PM
Tech Adept

can i buy a shock rebuild kit?.. and do i have to rebuild them all the time? or what? today i took the cap off pourd the oil out and put new 30wt oil in how do i know when to rebuild?...?

also the guy i got my car from cut a hold in the bladder and did the hole in the cap to bleed them he said i wasnt sure what it was all about but can somone explain that trick?
Old 09-15-2008, 12:32 AM
Tech Regular

You don't need to rebuild every time you change the oil. I only rebuild mine when they start leaking from the shaft seals, Otherwise if i'm just changing oil, just drain and refill. As for how often the oil needs replacing, it depends how much and how serious you race? Maybe every gallon or so?
Old 09-15-2008, 01:51 AM
Tech Adept

any info on the bleeding technique mentioned?
Old 09-15-2008, 07:10 AM
Tech Regular