Wiki Posts
Search

Clutch Bell Bearing Issue

Search this Thread

Old 08-06-2008, 11:08 AM
Tech Adept

Trader Rating: 9 (100%+)
Default Clutch Bell Bearing Issue

I have been racing for 7 months now and have not had a problem with my clutch bell bearings until a couple of races ago. It seems as soon as I put new ones in and run one lap, the front bearing lets go and the bearing moves up and starts rubbing the fuel tank (I have a Losi 8ight btw). I have checked the mesh and have swapped clutch bells for a new one. The clutch bell spins freely and only has the slightest bit of play. If I add another spacer then it is tight enough to cause concern that the tightness could be the cause of the problem. I am using Protec bearings and have been told that these are terrible bearings. I started with Losi and had no problems with the Losi ones but have only had bad problems with the Protec ones since switching. Is this really the answer to my problem is the brand of bearings? Please help! Thanks!
Old 08-06-2008, 11:14 AM
Tech Addict

Trader Rating: 8 (100%+)

is the crankshaft worn where the bearings sit? If there is enough slop, they could be heating up too much (actually spinning on the crankshaft) causing premature failure.....check it out.
Old 08-06-2008, 11:33 AM

Is your crankshaft clean where the bearings sit? You may need to clean off those little rust areas where the bearings sit with some fine sandpaper. If there is enough rust on there the bearings wont last very long. Another thing is if your gear mesh between the cluth bell and spur gear is to tight then when the chassis flexes it puts way to much stress on the bearings so they wont last very long that way either, and the chassis will flex every time you land a jump or hit a rut or whatever, so that can be a problem.
Old 08-06-2008, 11:43 AM
Tech Elite

Location: Fort Worth, Texas, USA, North America, Earth, Solar System, Milky Way Galaxy, Universe
Trader Rating: 1 (100%+)