Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Help me pick a engine for my Losi 8ight

Search this Thread

Old 07-17-2008, 10:47 PM
Tech Initiate

Thumbs down Help me pick a engine for my Losi 8ight

Hi guys, I'm new to the 1/8 scale scene and just picked up a Losi 8ight race roller and need to get an engine for it.

I've had many 1/10 nitros

Could I use a engine with a pull start or should I just get one that needs a bump start and just get a box?

I've never used a jump box I have always had pull starts or electric start.

Thanks any info is much appreciated
Old 07-17-2008, 11:04 PM
Tech Master

Trader Rating: 128 (99%+)

If you choose to get a pull starter you have to buy the RTR engine mount. It has been my experience watching other guys, that in 1/8th scale pull starters are a real PITA, I guess because of the engines higher compression. I would suggest just going ahead and getting the bump box.

It being your first 1/8th buggy I would suggest something like the Dynamite XP or the sportwerks .21, both are really easy to tune, good easy to drive power, and easy on the wallet.

Not to mention there aren't a lot of "good" .21 pull start engines.
Old 07-17-2008, 11:27 PM
Tech Initiate

Originally Posted by kd2777
If you choose to get a pull starter you have to buy the RTR engine mount. It has been my experience watching other guys, that in 1/8th scale pull starters are a real PITA, I guess because of the engines higher compression. I would suggest just going ahead and getting the bump box.

It being your first 1/8th buggy I would suggest something like the Dynamite XP or the sportwerks .21, both are really easy to tune, good easy to drive power, and easy on the wallet.

Not to mention there aren't a lot of "good" .21 pull start engines.
what about a .28? I'm running a DX3.0 radio so I can set my EPA's for the throttle if its to much
Old 07-17-2008, 11:37 PM
Tech Regular

Trader Rating: 7 (100%+)